Goossens: Complete Music for Violin and Piano

Buy + Add To Wish List + $10.79 ($11.99) - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
A member of one of the most important English musical dynasties of the 19th and 20th
centuries, Eugene Goossens trained as a violinist and composer but gained fame as a
conductor. His Sonata No. 1 integrates a personal style with the influences of Debussy
and Ravel, the improvisatory Lyric Poem being from the same period. Dedicated
to Jascha Heifetz, the dramatic extremes of the Sonata No. 2 range from brooding
melancholy to affirmative luminosity, sharing a “lyrical intensity” with the Romance.
Robert Gibbs is a guest leader for the BBC Philharmonic, Royal Opera House,
Nederlands Ballet and the New Queen’s Hall orchestras. He often performs
as soloist for ballet, including Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons for Birmingham
Royal Ballet, works by Kreisler, Massenet and Ravel for the Royal Ballet, and
Stravinsky and Bach for New York City Ballet.
Item number 8572860
Barcode 747313286072
Release date 3/27/2012
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Gibbs, Robert
Disc: 1
1 I. Allegro con anima 00:08:31 Fenyo, Gusztav Gibbs, Robert
2 II. Molto adagio 00:07:49 Fenyo, Gusztav Gibbs, Robert
3 III. Con brio 00:06:00 Fenyo, Gusztav Gibbs, Robert
4 Lyric Poem, Op. 35 (version for violin and piano) 00:09:17 Fenyo, Gusztav Gibbs, Robert
5 Old Chinese Folksong, Op. 4, No. 1 00:01:47 Fenyo, Gusztav Gibbs, Robert
6 Romance, Op. 57 00:05:51 Fenyo, Gusztav Gibbs, Robert
7 I. Moderato con anima 00:14:26 Fenyo, Gusztav Gibbs, Robert
8 II. Intermezzo: A la Sicilienne 00:07:13 Fenyo, Gusztav Gibbs, Robert
9 III. Finale: Molto moderato - Allegro 00:10:41 Fenyo, Gusztav Gibbs, Robert
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Goossens: Complete Music for Violin and Piano, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$8.99 ($9.99)
DEBUSSY: String Quartet No. 1 / RAVEL: String Quartet in F / Introduction and Allegro
$11.69 ($12.99)
DVORAK: String Quartet No. 12, "American" / String Quartet No. 14
$10.79 ($11.99)
$8.99 ($9.99)
SCHUBERT: Piano Trios in B-Flat Major, D. 898 and D. 28
SCHUBERT: Piano Trios in E-Flat Major, D. 929 and D. 897 8550132 5/15/1989 $8.99 ($9.99)
MUSIC FROM OLD VIENNA 8550228 3/15/1989 $8.99 ($9.99)
HAYDN: String Quartets Nos. 61-63 8550129 10/6/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Romantic Violin Favourites 8550125 6/30/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mozart: Serenade No. 10 in B-Flat Major, K. 361 "Gran Partita" 8550060 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mozart: Violin Sonatas, K. 378, K. 376 and K. 296 8550065 2/5/1988 $11.69 ($12.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items