Hallowed Ground

Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
In conceiving his inaugural season as Music Director of the Cincinnati Symphony, Louis Langtree wanted to celebrate the Orchestra’s rich tradition of excellence and its legacy of introducing the world to new works. Aaron Copland’s Lincoln Portrait had its world premiere performance by the Cincinnati Symphony at Music Hall in 1942. November of 2013 marked the 150th anniversary of Abraham Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address. Those powerful words were delivered here by legendary author, poet, activist and humanitarian Dr. Maya Angelou, a mere seven months before her recent passing at the age of 86; Hallowed Ground is dedicated in her memory. Hallowed Ground also features live recordings of two new works commissioned by the Orchestra for the MusicNOW Festival in March of 2014. Nico Muhly’s Pleasure Ground is a musical portrait of the iconic landscape architect and designer Frederick Law Olmsted and David Lang’s mountain is a musical portrait of composer Aaron Copland, who had a strong connection with the Cincinnati Symphony. Both these pieces and the Orchestra’s overall collaboration with the MusicNOW Festival represent a true spirit of innovation in Cincinnati, and affirm this as a place of experimentation.
Item number FC-003
Barcode 870362000037
Release date 9/9/2014
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Wyatt, Nathan
Conductor Langrée, Louis
Lyricist Angelou, Maya
Orchestra Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
Disc: 1
Lincoln Portrait00:15:00
1 Lincoln Portrait 00:14:59 Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra Angelou, Maya Langrée, Louis
2 Mountain 00:12:27 Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra Langrée, Louis
Pleasure Ground00:18:45
3 Pleasure Ground: Pt. I 00:06:43 Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra Langrée, Louis Wyatt, Nathan
4 Pleasure Ground: Pt. II 00:06:41 Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra Langrée, Louis Wyatt, Nathan
5 Pleasure Ground: Pt. III 00:05:28 Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra Langrée, Louis Wyatt, Nathan
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Hallowed Ground, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
$17.99 ($19.99)
Gregory Spears: Fellow Travelers (Live)
$15.29 ($16.99)
Concertos for Orchestra (Live)
$15.29 ($16.99)
American Originals (Live)
Russell: Carnival of the Animals FC-004 11/11/2014 $15.29 ($16.99)
HOME FOR THE HOLIDAYS FC-001 9/25/2012 $15.29 ($16.99)
Baltic Portraits CSOM-946 10/25/2011 $15.29 ($16.99)
Out of stock
American Portraits CSOM-945 1/25/2011 $15.29 ($16.99)
Schubert: Symphony No. 9 "Great" - Strauss: Don Juan, Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche & Excerpts CDX-5140 5/20/2010 $17.99
Few in stock Buy +
Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 "Eroica" - Busoni: Turandot Suite & 2 Studien zu Doktor Faust CDX-5137 5/28/2009 $17.99
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items