Hanson: Symphonies Nos. 6 & 7 - Lumen in Christo

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Hanson’s last two symphonies offer a fitting conclusion to his compositional career. Commissioned for the 185th anniversary season of the New York Philharmonic and dedicated to Leonard Bernstein, the romantic Sixth is cast in six continuous movements pervaded by a haunting three-note motif. The Seventh sets the poetry of Walt Whitman and reaffirms Hanson’s Sibelian inheritance whilst proudly ending his own symphonic cycle in a blaze of glory. Lumen in Christo, which intriguingly bears the inscription “with variations on themes by Haydn and Handel,” is a choral work for women’s voices that sets sacred texts on the subject of light, ending in ethereal calm. “I found this to be an even more satisfying release than its predecessor, and it is sure to please those who have been enjoying Schwarz’s Hanson survey.” - Fanfare
Item number 8559704
Barcode 636943970423
Release date 1/31/2012
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Schwarz, Gerard
Disc: 1
1 I. Andante 00:03:43 Seattle Symphony Schwarz, Gerard
2 II. Allegro scherzando 00:04:52 Schwarz, Gerard Seattle Symphony
3 III. Adagio 00:04:58 Schwarz, Gerard Seattle Symphony
4 IV. Allegro assai 00:02:10 Schwarz, Gerard Seattle Symphony
5 V. Adagio 00:02:53 Schwarz, Gerard Seattle Symphony
6 VI. Allegro 00:01:57 Schwarz, Gerard Seattle Symphony
7 I. Largo 00:10:54 Seattle Symphony Schwarz, Gerard Seattle Symphony Chorale
8 II. Andante 00:10:39 Seattle Symphony Chorale Schwarz, Gerard Seattle Symphony
9 I. Lo, the unbounded sea 00:07:44 Seattle Symphony Chorale Schwarz, Gerard Seattle Symphony
10 II. The untold want 00:04:19 Seattle Symphony Chorale Schwarz, Gerard Seattle Symphony
11 III. Joy, shipmate, joy! 00:06:10 Seattle Symphony Chorale Schwarz, Gerard Seattle Symphony
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Hanson: Symphonies Nos. 6 & 7 - Lumen in Christo, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
Rimsky-Korsakov: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3
Mennin: Moby Dick - Symphonies Nos. 3 and 7
Hanson: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 5
Hanson: Symphpony No. 3 - Merry Mount Suite
Hanson: Symphony No. 2 - Lux aeterna - Mosaics 8559701 10/25/2011 $11.99
Hanson: Symphony No. 1, 'Nordic' - The Lament for Beowulf 8559700 9/27/2011 $11.99
Foote, A.: Francesca Da Rimini / 4 Character Pieces After the Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam / Suite / Serenade (Excerpts) 8559365 5/26/2009 $11.99
GROFE: Death Valley Suite / Hudson River Suite / Hollywood Suite 8559017 9/1/2002 $11.99
THOMSON, V.: Symphonies Nos. 2 and 3 / Symphony on a Hymn Tune 8559022 2/1/2000 $11.99
SOUSA: On Stage 8559008 10/1/1999 $11.99
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items