Hashimoto: Symphony No. 2 - 3 Wasan

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99) - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Qunihico Hashimoto was one of the leading Japanese composers in the first
half of the twentieth century. His synthesis of Japanese and European musical
forms was founded on two years of study and travel in the West. Symphony No. 2
was commissioned to celebrate Japan’s new postwar Constitution, but combines
jubilation with an introspective nostalgia. Three Wasan sets Buddhist texts which
describe the beauty of ‘pure land’ or heaven, merging traditional chant with bel
canto expressiveness. Innovative for its time, the early Scherzo con sentimento
melds Japanese music with Western neo-classicism. Hashimoto’s Symphony No.
1 can be heard on 8.555881. Takuo Yuasa regularly performs throughout Europe and the Far East.
In Japan he has held the position of Principal Conductor with the
Gumma Symphony Orchestra and in the United Kingdom he has been
Principal Guest Conductor of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
and of the Ulster Orchestra in Northern Ireland.
Item number 8572869
Barcode 747313286973
Release date 7/31/2012
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Yuasa, Takuo
Orchestra Tokyo Geidai Philharmonia
Disc: 1
1 I. Allegro moderato 00:20:29 Tokyo Geidai Philharmonia Yuasa, Takuo
2 II. Finale 00:13:10 Yuasa, Takuo Tokyo Geidai Philharmonia
3 No. 1. The delicate, wondrous sounds of jewel-tree 00:05:35 Yuasa, Takuo Tokyo Geidai Philharmonia Fukushima, Akiya
4 No. 2. Pure winds blow in the jewel-trees 00:04:55 Fukushima, Akiya Tokyo Geidai Philharmonia Yuasa, Takuo
5 No. 3. Shine brilliantly from within each flower 00:05:01 Yuasa, Takuo Tokyo Geidai Philharmonia Fukushima, Akiya
6 Scherzo con sentimento 00:16:12 Yuasa, Takuo Tokyo Geidai Philharmonia
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Hashimoto: Symphony No. 2 - 3 Wasan, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$53.99 ($59.99)
Grieg: Complete Orchestral Works
$11.69 ($12.99)
Matsumura: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2 / To the Night of Gethsemane
$11.69 ($12.99)
YAMADA, K.: Nagauta Symphony / Meiji Symphony / Maria Magdalena
$11.69 ($12.99)
HONEGGER: Symphony No. 3, 'Liturgique' / Pacific 231 / Rugby
CLASSICAL CHILL 8520101 5/1/2002 $21.59 ($23.99)
DISCOVER THE CLASSICS, VOL. 1 8550035-36 9/3/1996 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker & Swan Lake Suites 8550050 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition - Borodin: Polovtsian Dances 8550051 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Out of stock
BIZET: Carmen Suites Nos. 1 and 2 / L'arlesienne Suites Nos. 1 and 2 8550061 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
MOZART: Kleine Nachtmusik (Eine) / Serenata Notturna / Divertimento No. 10 8550026 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items