Henze: Heliogabalus imperator - Works for Orchestra

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99) - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The relationship between Hans Werner Henze and Oliver Knussen was one of great mutual respect. The German composer admired the British conductor and composer for electrifying performances of Henze’s own and other composers’ works. Knussen was an untiring and enthusiastic champion of his friend Henze’s music. The recordings collected here display Knussen’s deep understanding of Henze’s music. Knussen conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra in sensitive and meticulous performances of compositions ranging from the composer’s middle period to his last completed work. Los Caprichos transforms the bitterness and sarcasm in Francisco Goya’s famous series of etchings into a tender and melancholy “Fantasia per orchestra” that makes only sparing use of contemporary stylistic devices. The large orchestral work Heliogabalus Imperator – a programmatic depiction of the life and death of the notorious Roman Emperor Marcus Aurelius Antoninus – also provides evidence of Henze’s self-assured and idiosyncratic interpretation of modern music idioms. The Englische Liebeslieder for solo violoncello and orchestra express a wide range of emotional states, which are brought to life by cellist Anssi Karttunen.
Item number WER73442
Barcode 4010228734423
Release date 6/14/2019
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Henze: Heliogabalus imperator - Works for Orchestra, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
$17.09 ($18.99)
THEODORAKIS, M.: Rhapsody for Cello and Orchestra / Rhapsody for Guitar and Orchestra
$14.39 ($15.99)
MUSSORGSKY: Pictures at an Exhibition - The Piano Concerto / NAOUMOFF: Meditation
$17.09 ($18.99)
THEODORAKIS, M.: Symphony No. 4, "Symphony of Choral Odes"
Mahler: Symphony No. 7 WER64062 2/1/1997 $14.39 ($15.99)
Few in stock Buy +
FISCHER: Sudlich der Alpen / In vino veritas / Kleinigkeiten / Toccata / Eile mit Weile ALC 51012 5/1/1996 $14.39 ($15.99)
Stravinsky: Jeu de cartes - Suites Nos. 1 & 2 - Petrushka WER64042 9/1/1993 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Cage, J.: Concert for Piano and Orchestra / Atlas Eclipticalis WER62162 2/1/1993 $17.09 ($18.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Strauss: Don Juan - Macbeth - Also sprach Zarathustra WER64022 10/1/1992 $14.39 ($15.99)
Few in stock Buy +
WEISS, H.: Arche SM1060-50 12/1/1986 $14.39 ($15.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items