Hindemith Conducts Hindemith

Add To Wish List + $26.99 ($29.99) - Out of stock

This release features nearly all of the compositions by Paul Hindemith, performed by the Berliner Philharmoniker and the Philharmonia Orchestra with the composer conducting. The recordings presented here were made between 1955-1956. Since Hindemith could play nearly all the orchestral instruments, had perfect pitch and had the richest possible experience as an orchestral musician, he was an ideal conductor. With his European tours after the Second World War, Hindemith increasingly developed his conducting activities; these took up all his time after 1953 after he had given up his work at Yale University. He had indeed conducted in public for the first time in 1915 and repeatedly guest conducted exclusively his own music in the United States, but after 1947 he also included music of other composers – at first Bach, Haydn and Mozart – on his programmes.
Item number WS121.377
Barcode 8051773573774
Release date 7/5/2019
Category Orchestral
Number of units 2
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Hindemith Conducts Hindemith, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$44.99 ($49.99)
Conductors Profiles: Réne Leibowitz
$26.99 ($29.99)
Beethoven & Gluck: Orchestral Works
$26.99 ($29.99)
Dvorák: The Great Symphonies
$26.99 ($29.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 1 - Elgar: Enigma Variations - Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier Suite (1953-1959)
Beethoven, Mendelssohn & Grieg: Incidental Music WS121.122 5/1/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
Tchaikovsky: The Great Symphonies WS121.119 4/1/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
Out of stock
Erich Leinsdorf Conducts Wagner, Strauss & Rimsky-Korsakov WS121.116 3/1/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 11 - Khachaturian: Symphony No. 2, "The Bell" WS121.114 2/1/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Prokofiev, Mussorgsky & Respighi: Orchestral Works WS121.111 1/1/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov, Respighi, Stravinsky, Mussorgsky & Prokofiev: Orchestral Works WS121.104 11/1/2010 $26.99 ($29.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items