Holst: Orchestral Works

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Gustav Holst’s youthful enthusiasm for Wagner is reflected in his ebullient Walt Whitman overture written in 1899. Shortly afterwards he composed the Cotswolds Symphony which embraces hints of contemporary British folk music but is dominated by the slow movement, a profound elegy for the utopian socialist William Morris. Though completed at college, A Winter Idyll shows real orchestral assurance. Indra is an accomplished tone poem revealing Holst’s interest in the legends of India, whilst the glittering and evocative Japanese Suite was written in response to a request from a Japanese dancer appearing in London. The Ulster Orchestra is one of Northern Ireland’s cultural cornerstones and since its foundation in 1966 has become one of the major symphony orchestras in the United Kingdom and Ireland. JoAnn Falletta was appointed Principal Conductor in May 2011, the orchestra’s twelfth but first female and first American to be appointed to the post.
Item number 8572914
Barcode 747313291472
Release date 6/26/2012
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Falletta, JoAnn
Disc: 1
1 Walt Whitman, Op. 7 00:07:21 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
2 I. Allegro con brio 00:03:34 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
3 II. Elegy: Molto adagio (In Memoriam William Morri 00:08:35 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
4 III. Scherzo: Presto - Allegretto 00:04:54 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
5 IV. Finale: Allegro moderato 00:05:59 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
6 A Winter Idyll 00:09:01 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
7 I. Prelude: Song of the Fisherman 00:02:30 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
8 II. Ceremonial Dance 00:01:33 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
9 III. Dance of the Marionette 00:01:39 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
10 IV. Interlude: Song of the Fisherman 00:00:47 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
11 V. Dance under the Cherry Tree 00:02:00 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
12 VI. Finale: Dance of the Wolves 00:01:46 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
13 Indra, Op. 13 00:15:46 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Holst: Orchestral Works, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$10.79 ($11.99)
Schmitt: Antoine et Cléopâtre, Op. 69 & Le palais hanté, Op. 49
$10.79 ($11.99)
Bartók: Kossuth, 2 Portraits & Orchestral Suite No. 1
$11.69 ($12.99)
Glière: Symphony No. 3, 'Il'ya Muromets'
$11.69 ($12.99)
Moeran: In the Mountain Country
Moeran: Cello Concerto - Serenade 8573034 4/30/2013 $11.69 ($12.99)
Suk: Fairy Tale - Fantastic scherzo 8572323 3/29/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Dohnanyi: Variations on a Nursery Song 8572303 5/25/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Strauss, R.: Rosenkavalier (Der) Suite / Symphonic Fantasy On Die Frau Ohne Schatten / Symphonic Fragment From Josephs Legende 8572041 9/29/2009 $11.69 ($12.99)
Schubert, F.: Symphony, "Death and the Maiden" (Arr. A. Stein) / Symphony No. 8, "Unfinished" 8572051 3/31/2009 $11.69 ($12.99)
Respighi: Vetrate Di Chiesa - Impressioni Brasiliane - Rossiniana 8557711 11/20/2007 $11.69 ($12.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items