Images of Brazil

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This recording showcases the breadth and variety of Brazilian music by focusing on composers who explore traditional styles and use native forms, such as the bossa nova, choro, frevo, and samba, combined with neo-Romanticism, Modernism and jazz. Looking beyond cultural stereotypes, it includes Camargo Guarnieri’s grandly Romantic Violin Sonata No. 4 and a violin arrangement of one of Villa-Lobos’s most colorful character pieces, alongside contemporary works that explore nature painting, song, and the Carnival- offering an abundance of vibrancy, dance, languorous rhythms, and joyful wit. Critically acclaimed violinist Francesca Anderegg is renowned for delivering insightful accounts of contemporary and classical music. Through her inventive programming, active composer collaborations, and impassioned interpretations, Anderegg has earned praise as a musical explorer of the first order. Based in Rio de Janeiro, the Brazilian pianist Erika Ribeiro is considered one of the most prominent musicians of her generation. Her knowledge of Brazillian music is complemented by a deep grounding in European repertoire, with a special affinity for Mozart, Beethoven and Ravel.
Item number 8573923
Barcode 747313392377
Release date 12/7/2018
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Anderegg, Francesca
Ribeiro, Erika
Disc: 1
3 Pieces for Violin and Piano00:06:00
1 3 Pieces for Violin & Piano: No. 1, Baião 00:01:04 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
2 3 Pieces for Violin & Piano: No. 2, Reza de defunt 00:01:37 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
3 3 Pieces for Violin & Piano: No. 3, Toque je-je 00:02:51 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
Violin Sonata No. 400:18:00
4 Violin Sonata No. 4: I. Energico ma espressivo 00:04:00 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
5 Violin Sonata No. 4: II. Intimo 00:06:01 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
6 Violin Sonata No. 4: III. Allegro appassionato 00:06:48 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
Brincando com Theo (Playing with Theo) (arr. F. An00:04:00
7 Brincando com Theo (Arr. F. Anderegg & E. Ribeiro 00:03:44 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
Copenhague (Copenhagen) (arr. F. Anderegg and E. R00:03:00
8 Copenhague (Arr. F. Anderegg & E. Ribeiro for Viol 00:02:51 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
Mamulengo (arr. F. Anderegg and E. Ribeiro for vio00:07:00
9 Mamulengo (Arr. F. Anderegg & E. Ribeiro for Violi 00:03:28 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
O Martírio dos Insetos (The Martyrdom of Insects) 00:10:00
10 Martírio dos insetos, W213 (Arr. R. Averbach for V 00:04:23 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
11 Martírio dos insetos, W213 (Arr. R. Averbach for V 00:03:31 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
12 Martírio dos insetos, W213 (Arr. R. Averbach for V 00:02:11 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
Meloritmias No. 400:08:00
13 Meloritmias No. 4: I. Allegro 00:02:55 Anderegg, Francesca
14 Meloritmias No. 4: II. Lento 00:03:22 Anderegg, Francesca
15 Meloritmias No. 4: III. Tempo de frevo 00:01:27 Anderegg, Francesca
Águas Claras (Clear Waters)00:06:00
16 Águas claras 00:05:36 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
Flor da Noite (Night Flower)00:04:00
17 Flor da noite 00:03:43 Anderegg, Francesca Ribeiro, Erika
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Images of Brazil, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$8.99 ($9.99)
DEBUSSY: String Quartet No. 1 / RAVEL: String Quartet in F / Introduction and Allegro
$11.69 ($12.99)
DVORAK: String Quartet No. 12, "American" / String Quartet No. 14
$10.79 ($11.99)
$8.99 ($9.99)
SCHUBERT: Piano Trios in B-Flat Major, D. 898 and D. 28
SCHUBERT: Piano Trios in E-Flat Major, D. 929 and D. 897 8550132 5/15/1989 $8.99 ($9.99)
MUSIC FROM OLD VIENNA 8550228 3/15/1989 $8.99 ($9.99)
HAYDN: String Quartets Nos. 61-63 8550129 10/6/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Romantic Violin Favourites 8550125 6/30/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mozart: Serenade No. 10 in B-Flat Major, K. 361 "Gran Partita" 8550060 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mozart: Violin Sonatas, K. 378, K. 376 and K. 296 8550065 2/5/1988 $11.69 ($12.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items