J. Haydn: Baryton Trios - Treasures from the Esterháza Palace

Buy + Add To Wish List + $10.79 ($11.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Much of Franz Joseph Haydn’s long career was in service as a court musician to the wealthy Esterházy family. It was early in Haydn’s time at the Esterháza palace that Prince Nicolaus took a liking to the hypnotic sound of the baryton – a bowed instrument with an extra set of strings that vibrate sympathetically or are plucked for tonal contrast. The baryton was considered the pinnacle of 18th-century aristocratic instruments, and the outstanding beauty of Haydn’s trios represent its final renaissance, placing this remarkable antique firmly into the poised and tasteful Classical style of the day. The Valencia Baryton Project comprises musicians from the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía opera house in Valencia and the Opéra Orchestre National Montpellier, who came together with the vision of performing the almost 160 works by Joseph Haydn written for the baryton, a cross between a viola da gamba and a lirone. At the heart of the ensemble is the traditional baryton trio – baryton, viola and cello – for which Haydn wrote 123 works of outstanding beauty during his time as court composer for Prince Esterhazy of Austria. Members of the Valencia Baryton Project have performed in chamber ensembles including Quarteto Radamés Gnattali, the Elan Quintet, Gogmagogs and Trio Vanguardia and with orchestras including the RTVE Symphony Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra, and the BBC Philharmonic. The Valencia Baryton Project is the first ensemble to record the baryton for Naxos.
Item number 8574188
Barcode 747313418879
Release date 7/23/2021
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Ensemble Valencia Baryton Project
Disc: 1
Baryton Trio in D Major, Hob.XI:6900:10:00
1 I. Adagio 00:05:26 Valencia Baryton Project
2 II. Menuet: Allegretto 00:01:58 Valencia Baryton Project
3 III. Finale: Presto 00:03:01 Valencia Baryton Project
Baryton Trio in A Major, Hob.XI:900:11:00
4 I. Moderato 00:07:30 Valencia Baryton Project
5 II. Menuett 00:02:42 Valencia Baryton Project
6 III. Finale: Allegro 00:01:37 Valencia Baryton Project
Baryton Trio in D Major, Hob.XI:5800:09:00
7 I. Moderato 00:05:39 Valencia Baryton Project
8 II. Minuetto 00:01:58 Valencia Baryton Project
9 III. Finale: Allegro di molto 00:02:16 Valencia Baryton Project
Baryton Trio in D Major, Hob.XI:6100:10:00
10 I. Allegro 00:05:23 Valencia Baryton Project
11 II. Andantino 00:05:01 Valencia Baryton Project
12 III. Menuett 00:01:58 Valencia Baryton Project
Baryton Trio in A Minor, Hob.XI:8700:12:00
13 I. Adagio 00:06:50 Valencia Baryton Project
14 II. Allegro molto 00:02:44 Valencia Baryton Project
15 III. Menuetto 00:02:52 Valencia Baryton Project
Baryton Trio in G Major, Hob.XI:5500:08:00
16 I. Moderato 00:04:58 Valencia Baryton Project
17 II. Menuett 00:02:07 Valencia Baryton Project
18 III. Finale: Allegro di molto 00:01:47 Valencia Baryton Project
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like J. Haydn: Baryton Trios - Treasures from the Esterháza Palace, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$8.99 ($9.99)
DEBUSSY: String Quartet No. 1 / RAVEL: String Quartet in F / Introduction and Allegro
$11.69 ($12.99)
DVORAK: String Quartet No. 12, "American" / String Quartet No. 14
$10.79 ($11.99)
$8.99 ($9.99)
SCHUBERT: Piano Trios in B-Flat Major, D. 898 and D. 28
SCHUBERT: Piano Trios in E-Flat Major, D. 929 and D. 897 8550132 5/15/1989 $8.99 ($9.99)
MUSIC FROM OLD VIENNA 8550228 3/15/1989 $8.99 ($9.99)
HAYDN: String Quartets Nos. 61-63 8550129 10/6/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Romantic Violin Favourites 8550125 6/30/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mozart: Serenade No. 10 in B-Flat Major, K. 361 "Gran Partita" 8550060 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mozart: Violin Sonatas, K. 378, K. 376 and K. 296 8550065 2/5/1988 $11.69 ($12.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items