Jeff Herriott: The Stone Tapestry

Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
"The Stone Tapestry is a collection of interwoven myths, about origins, lifecycles, and the pace and significance of change. As a whole, the piece divides into two segments that together trace the path of just a few stones, from discovery to disappearance. Musically, several different ideas appear and recur in different forms, modeling change across large time spans. The ritualistic approach to the performance of many segments of the piece is intended to impart a distance to the act of music-making, placing forcus on the repetitive nature of the physical acts themselves." - Jeff Herriott. This remarkable one hour long piece in nine sections, commissioend by the Barlow Foundation, written for Due East and performed here with Third Coast Percussion, marries a timeless stance to sound and pacing with a very contemporary approach to timbre and instrumentation. Each movement patiently excavates a different sound world, unearthing subtleties and long structural shapes. But the sonic parirings are innovative, like the union of flutter tongue flute and bowed vibraphone in the third movement. Due East and Third Coast Percussion are ideal instrumentalists for this music, exploring the fine details in timbral shading as an archeaologist might examine an artifact. Herriott's expansive formal process in The Stone Tapestry allows the work to breathe and inhabit the world of natural time. While the resultant sound of the music is very distinct, the temporal quality of the piece is reminiscent of the music of John Luther Adams. In this sense, Jeff Herriott joins Adams in allowing his music to draw attention to, and not away from, our natural landscape. Stones, like rivers, mountains, and valleys move and change at a glacial pace, and Herriot's deft use of repetition with subtle variation, avoidance of didactic rhythmic regularity and penchant for static harmonic textures bring us into a sphere entirely apart form glowing screens, twenty four hour news cycles and crowded metropolitan areas.
Item number FCR175
Barcode 600116687524
Release date 2/17/2017
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Ensemble Due East
Third Coast Percussion
Disc: 1
Clouds Of Stone00:15:46
1 The Stone Tapestry: I. Clouds of Stone 00:15:46 Third Coast Percussion Due East
Between the Sun and the Shade00:02:43
2 The Stone Tapestry: II. Between the Sun and the Sh 00:02:43 Due East
Luminous Stones00:05:30
3 The Stone Tapestry: III. Luminous Stones 00:06:01 Due East Third Coast Percussion
Beneath a Granite Sky00:07:00
4 The Stone Tapestry: IV. Beneath a Granite Sky 00:07:45 Third Coast Percussion Beyer, Greg
Consciousness Floats into the Wind00:11:00
5 The Stone Tapestry: V. Consciousness Floats into t 00:10:55 Due East
Wanderer Hymn00:06:00
6 The Stone Tapestry: VI. Wanderer Hymn 00:05:33 Lesser, Erin
Purification of the Stone00:03:18
7 The Stone Tapestry: VII. Purification of the Stone 00:03:18 Beyer, Greg Third Coast Percussion
Lament of the Stone00:05:07
8 The Stone Tapestry: VIII. Lament of the Stone 00:05:07 Third Coast Percussion Due East
Draping the Walls with Ice00:03:30
9 The Stone Tapestry: IX. Draping the Walls with Ice 00:03:02 Third Coast Percussion
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Jeff Herriott: The Stone Tapestry, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Philippe Manoury: The Book of Keyboards
$15.29 ($16.99)
Resounding Earth
$15.29 ($16.99)
$15.29 ($16.99)
The Bright and Hollow Sky
Breaking Training FCR111 5/27/2010 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Lieberson: Tashi Quartet - Reynolds: Shadowed Narrative FCR112 3/30/2010 $15.29 ($16.99)
Aliento FCR109 10/15/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Sturm - Compositions by Adam Silverman FCR107 8/1/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
fm Flexible Music FCR105 3/27/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Abandoned Time FCR104 9/1/2008 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items