Jones: Symphonies Nos. 12 & 13 - Come, my Way, my Truth, my Life

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
A fine example of Jones at his most succinct and incisive, the Twelfth Symphony (1985) was commissioned by the Civil and Public Services Association as a farewell gift to their retiring General Secretary, Ken Thomas The Twelfth Symphony was first performed by the BBC Welsh Symphony Orchestra and conductor Erich Bergel at a gala concert at St David's Hall, Cardiff on 26 September 1985. The score bears a superscription consisting of a brief quotation from Pushkin, which reads 'Yet one last tale, And my chronicle is ended'. Daniel Jones's Symphony in memory of John Fussell (Symphony No.13) (1992) was first performed by the BBC Welsh Symphony Orchestra and conductor Richard Hickox at the Brangwyn Hall, Swansea on 17 October 1992 at that year's Swansea Festival. The work is a personal tribute to a friend of the composer, who was Swansea's Director of Music and City Organist from 1970 until 1990, the year of his death. The cantata Come, my Way, my Truth, my Life (1987) was written in memory of John Aeron-Thomas, whose widow Margaret commissioned the work. A devout Christian, John Aeron-Thomas had been a founder-member of the Swansea Festival, who commissioned Jones's First Symphony. among other works. The text is taken from poetry by George Herbert (1593-1633), which details his sacred journey.
Item number SRCD391
Barcode 5020926039125
Release date 11/5/2021
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Jones: Symphonies Nos. 12 & 13 - Come, my Way, my Truth, my Life, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$13.49 ($14.99)
Benjamin, Stevens, Panufnik, Bax & Berkeley: Works for String Orchestra
$17.09 ($18.99)
Rootham: Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 97 & Ode on the Morning of Christ's Nativity, Op. 81
$17.09 ($18.99)
Bennett: Overtures & Symphony in G Minor
$17.09 ($18.99)
Cooke: Concerto for String Orchestra in D Major, Symphony No. 1 & Jabez and the Devil
Bennett: Piano Concertos 1 & 3 and Caprice in E Major SRCD204 11/1/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Hurlstone: Orchestral Works SRCD208 10/1/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Rubbra: Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4, A Tribute & Resurgam SRCD202 9/1/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
W. Wordsworth: Symphony No. 2 & 3 SRCD207 9/1/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Arnold: Symphony No. 4, Op. 71 SRCD200 9/1/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)
Arnold: Orchestral Works SRCD201 8/1/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items