Josef Schelb: Orchestral Music, Vol. 2: Three Concertos

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Josef Schelb (1894–1977) is one of the better-kept secrets of German music. His output was substantial: he lost most of his early music in a bombing raid in 1942 but, as if to make up for lost time, wrote some 150 more works after that, in the tonally liberated, quasi-Expressionist contrapuntal tradition of Hindemith and Hartmann; Bartók was an important influence, too. These three concertos show him at his most engaging: the contrapuntal craftsmanship that drives the music forward is deployed with a light and nimble touch, and passages of touching delicacy contrast with others where a lively sense of humor comes bubbling up to the surface.
Item number TOCC0604
Barcode 5060113446046
Release date 6/4/2021
Category Concertos
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Josef Schelb: Orchestral Music, Vol. 2: Three Concertos, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Krenek: Complete Piano Concertos, Vol. 2
$17.09 ($18.99)
Canfield: 3 "After" Concertos
$17.09 ($18.99)
Krenek: Complete Piano Concertos, Vol. 1
$17.09 ($18.99)
Pensieri Adriarmonici, Vol. 2
Raykhelson: Orchestral Music, Vol. 3 TOCC0219 3/25/2014 $17.09 ($18.99)
Facco: Pensieri Adriarmonici, Vol. 1 TOCC0202 1/28/2014 $17.09 ($18.99)
Raykhelson: Violin Concerto - Viola Concerto TOCC0130 7/10/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Prior, A.: Velesslavitsa TOCC0109 11/10/2009 $17.09 ($18.99)
PLAKIDIS: Music for String Orchestra TOCC0004 4/10/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
TOVEY: Cello Concerto / Air / Elegiac Variations TOCC0038 1/9/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items