Kagel: Mimetics

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
In 1961, Mauricio Kagel wrote a piano piece with two titles. As a solo work, it is called “Metapiece." It can also, however, be played together – either simultaneously or in alternation – with other pieces by Kagel or other living composers, and is then called Mimetics. In this way, Kagel opens at the conceptual level various possibilities for the interpreter to realize his composition. The pianist Sabine Liebner has accepted Kagel’s invitation to collaborate and undertaken her own musical journey through the composer’s piano music. Sabine Liebner‘s response to his invitation to play with the idea of open form is unique in that she combines “Metapiece” exclusively with other piano pieces, all of them composed by Kagel himself. “Metapiece”, in its “Mimetics” form, surrounds these other works or is laid over them. Framed by “Mimetics”, the “Cuatro piezas para piano” and “MM 51” are played in their original forms, and the piano etude “An Tasten” is subverted by a version of “Mimetics”. At the end of Liebner’s response to Kagel’s original invitation, “Metapiece” itself appears in a 20-minute solo version.
Item number WER73632
Barcode 4010228736328
Release date 11/17/2017
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Kagel: Mimetics, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Amiable Conversation
$14.39 ($15.99)
HELLER, B.: Hundertmelodienbuch
$14.39 ($15.99)
Satie, E.: Gnossiennes / 3 Melodies / 3 Poemes D'Amour / Grozinger, J.: Dream Play / Les Espaces Du Sommeil
$17.09 ($18.99)
Theodorakis, M.: Guitar Music
Kloppers, J.: Dance Suite / Bedard, D.: Petite Suite / Bolting, R.: Suite On Famous Christmas Carols ORG 70132 3/1/2001 $14.39 ($15.99)
Archimbaud, L.: Organ Music (Livre D'Orgue De Carpentras) ORG 70112 9/1/2000 $14.39 ($15.99)
SCHEIDEMANN / SCHEIDT / BUXTEHUDE / BACH / GADE / REIMANN: Wie Schon Leuchtet der Morgenstern ORG 70092 3/1/2000 $14.39 ($15.99)
Fumet, D.: Canticum Novum / Les Chariots D'Israel / Le Conciliabule Des Arbes / Adam Et Eve / Feu De Gloire ORG 70082 11/1/1999 $14.39 ($15.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Kohler: Alles Kapriolen ALC 51052 5/1/1999 $14.39 ($15.99)
VIERNE: Organ Symphony No. 1 / WIDOR: Organ Symphony No. 4 / FRANCK: Deuxieme Choral in B minor ORG 70052 3/1/1999 $14.39 ($15.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items