Klami & Englund: Violin Concertos

Buy + Add To Wish List + $14.39 ($15.99) - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Average rating:
(1 reviews)
Uuno Klami write his Violin Concerto during World War II and it was premiered in Stockholm in 1944. The piece was lost during the war and Klami completed a new version in 1954. Klami is known for the strong influences he takes from French music and from Stravinsky. Known for his exceptionally wide repertoire and a great sense of musicality, Benjamin Schmid is one of the most versatile violinists of today. Described as "one of the most valuable of today's golden-age-violinists" - The New York Sun
Item number ODE 1278-2
Barcode 761195127827
Release date 10/14/2016
Category Concertos
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Schmid, Benjamin
Conductor Gustavsson, Johannes
Orchestra Oulu Symphony Orchestra
Disc: 1
Violin Concerto00:00:00
1 Violin Concerto: I. Allegro moderato 00:13:52 Schmid, Benjamin Oulu Symphony Orchestra Gustavsson, Johannes
2 Violin Concerto: II. Moderato 00:07:51 Schmid, Benjamin Oulu Symphony Orchestra Gustavsson, Johannes
3 Violin Concerto: III. Finale. Allegro molto 00:06:57 Schmid, Benjamin Oulu Symphony Orchestra Gustavsson, Johannes
Violin Concerto, Op. 3200:28:32
4 Violin Concerto, Op. 32: I. Allegro molto moderato 00:11:29 Gustavsson, Johannes Oulu Symphony Orchestra Schmid, Benjamin
5 Violin Concerto, Op. 32: II. Adagio ma non troppo 00:09:10 Schmid, Benjamin Oulu Symphony Orchestra Gustavsson, Johannes
6 Violin Concerto, Op. 32: III. Allegro giocoso 00:07:30 Schmid, Benjamin Oulu Symphony Orchestra Gustavsson, Johannes
5 - Classics Today - Critic Review - 11/6/2016
"These are two excellent violin concertos by two excellent Finnish composers.? Einar Englund’s Violin Concerto is based on an expansive five-note motive that permeates all three movements, but never in a pointlessly repetitive or simplistic way. ... Uuno Klami’s idiom has been described as “French,” and the fastidiousness of his orchestral writing really does recall Ravel at times... This concerto also brings to mind Prokofiev, especially in its breezy, ironic finale, a sort of perpetual motion in which gawky tunes come and go." - David Hurwitz
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Klami & Englund: Violin Concertos, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Hakola & Hosokawa: Guitar Concertos
$15.29 ($16.99)
Beethoven, L. Van: Piano Concerto No. 3 / Piano Concerto in D Major, Op. 61A
$15.29 ($16.99)
Beethoven: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2
$15.29 ($16.99)
SIBELIUS, J.: Violin Concerto in D minor / Symphony No. 2
Poulenc, Saint-Saëns & Barber: Works for Organ & Orchestra ODE 1094-5 2/12/2003 $15.29 ($16.99)
Vasks, P.: Symphony No. 3 - Cello Concerto ODE 1086-5 8/29/2002 $15.29 ($16.99)
Kaipainen, J.: Horn Concerto / Cello Concerto No. 1 ODE 1062-2 1/1/2002 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Mozart, W.A.: Clarinet Concerto in A Major / Molter, J.C.: Clarinet Concertos Nos. 1, 3 and 4 ODE 1056-2 11/9/2001 $15.29 ($16.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Mozart, W.A.: Violin Concertos Nos. 3-5 To ODE 1025-2 8/27/1999 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Anders Hillborg: Clarinet Concerto - Liquid Marble - Violin Concerto ODE 1006-2 2/16/1999 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items