Kuhlau: Piano Quartet No. 3 - Malling: Piano Quartet

Buy + Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99) - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The prizewinning Copenhagen Piano Quartet presents works by composers cosmopolitan and conservative, but each brimming with charm. German-born Friedrich Kuhlau was a leading figure in what posterity has dubbed the Danish Golden Age. From the outset, Kuhlau stated that he intended to write three piano quartets. With this new release, Kuhlau’s complete piano quartets are available in recordings by the young and rising Copenhagen Piano Quartet. Kuhlau declared his Piano Quartet No. 3 ‘my best to date,’ speaking of a large-scale work of drama offset by grace and highlighting the composer’s contrapuntal gift. Otto Malling was a Danish composer and organ player and the pupil of JPE Hartmann and Niels W Gade. In 1903 Malling wrote his one and only piano quartet, which was also his very last chamber work to compose. The work by ‘The Danish Saint-Saens,’ as he was affectionately called by some of his peers, presents a perfect picture of this master craftsman’s clarity and concision while showing tantalizing signs of his sensuality, too.
Item number 6220591
Barcode 747313159161
Release date 5/3/2019
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Ensemble Copenhagen Piano Quartet
Disc: 1
Piano Quartet No. 3 in G Minor, Op. 10800:38:00
1 I. Allegro con molto fuoco 00:14:19 Copenhagen Piano Quartet
2 II. Scherzo: Allegro assai 00:06:08 Copenhagen Piano Quartet
3 III. Adagio 00:09:29 Copenhagen Piano Quartet
4 IV. Finale: Allegro poco agitato 00:06:55 Copenhagen Piano Quartet
Piano Quartet in C Minor, Op. 8000:27:00
5 I. Allegro - Presto - Largo 00:08:26 Copenhagen Piano Quartet
6 II. Allegro - Trio 00:05:45 Copenhagen Piano Quartet
7 III. Andante - Poco piu` animato - Tempo I - Poco 00:06:35 Copenhagen Piano Quartet
8 IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco 00:06:43 Copenhagen Piano Quartet
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Kuhlau: Piano Quartet No. 3 - Malling: Piano Quartet, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
Kuhlau: Piano Quartets Nos. 1 & 2
$11.69 ($12.99)
Langgaard: String Quartets, Vol. 2
$11.69 ($12.99)
Early & Late
$11.69 ($12.99)
Rasmussen: Motion/Emotion & Chamber Music
Riisager: Violin Works 6220594 2/26/2013 $11.69 ($12.99)
Langgaard: String Quartets, Vol. 1 6220575 4/24/2012 $11.69 ($12.99)
Anders Koppel: String Quartets - Mezzo Saxophone Quintet 6220566 5/31/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, P.: Concerto Grosso (Rev. 2006) / Moving Still / Last Ground 6220548 10/28/2008 $11.69 ($12.99)
Nielsen, C.: String Quartets, Vol. 2 - Opp. 5, 14 6220522 5/27/2008 $11.69 ($12.99)
C. Nielsen: String Quartets, Vol. 1 6220521 4/24/2007 $11.69 ($12.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items