Lutoslawski & Penderecki: Complete Music for Violin & Piano

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.99 ($19.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Repression and censorship; optimism and freedom; renewed constraints. If this sounds like a now all too familiar story of political progress achieved and then reversed, then this stunning survey of chamber works by two of Poland’s leading post-war composers suggests that music was there to bear witness to each twist and turn of the tale. From the post-Stalin thaw of the 1950s and 1960s to the triumphant re-establishment of democracy near century’s end, these vital utterances range from the exploded intensities of Penderecki’s Three Miniatures to the lean, focused expressive charge of Lutoslawski’s Partita and the millennial anxieties of Penderecki’s Violin Sonata No 2. On their first recording with Delphian Records, Michael Foyle and Maksim Štšura transmit every nuance, while giving these works new life as a statement of intent for virtues so unwavering as to seem like a reproach to the inconstancies of political life – alert collaboration, reciprocity, freedom, precision, joy.
Item number DCD34217
Barcode 801918342172
Release date 1/25/2019
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Ensemble Foyle-Štšura Duo
Disc: 1
1 Subito 00:05:10 Foyle-Štšura Duo
Recitativo e arioso00:04:00
2 Recitativo e arioso 00:04:11 Foyle-Štšura Duo
Violin Sonata No. 100:05:52
3 Violin Sonata No. 1: I. Allegro 00:03:13 Foyle-Štšura Duo
4 Violin Sonata No. 1: II. Andante 00:02:27 Foyle-Štšura Duo
5 Violin Sonata No. 1: III. Allegro vivace 00:02:33 Foyle-Štšura Duo
3 Miniatures for Violin and Piano00:04:01
6 3 Miniatures for Violin & Piano: No. 1, — 00:01:18 Foyle-Štšura Duo
7 3 Miniatures for Violin & Piano: No. 2, — 00:00:53 Foyle-Štšura Duo
8 3 Miniatures for Violin & Piano: No. 3, — 00:01:46 Foyle-Štšura Duo
9 Partita: I. Allegro giusto 00:04:10 Foyle-Štšura Duo
10 Partita: II. Ad libitum 00:01:06 Foyle-Štšura Duo
11 Partita: III. Largo 00:05:53 Foyle-Štšura Duo
12 Partita: IV. Ad libitum 00:00:55 Foyle-Štšura Duo
13 Partita: V. Presto 00:03:46 Foyle-Štšura Duo
Violin Sonata No. 200:20:43
14 Violin Sonata No. 2: I. Larghetto 00:04:47 Foyle-Štšura Duo
15 Violin Sonata No. 2: II. Allegretto scherzando 00:04:34 Foyle-Štšura Duo
16 Violin Sonata No. 2: III. Notturno. Adagio 00:12:30 Foyle-Štšura Duo
17 Violin Sonata No. 2: IV. Allegro 00:10:03 Foyle-Štšura Duo
18 Violin Sonata No. 2: V. Andante 00:03:41 Foyle-Štšura Duo
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Lutoslawski & Penderecki: Complete Music for Violin & Piano, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.99 ($19.99)
Postcard from Nalchik: String Quartets by Haydn, Prokofiev & Shostakovich
$17.99 ($19.99)
Bohemian Rhapsodies
$17.99 ($19.99)
Mátyás Seiber: String Quartets Nos. 1-3
$17.99 ($19.99)
Gavin Bryars: 8 Irish Madrigals, Epilogue from Wonderlawn & The Church Closest to the Sea
Rachmaninoff & Shostakovich: Cello Sonatas DCD34034 7/28/2008 $17.99 ($19.99)
Knotwork DCD34065 4/28/2008 $17.99 ($19.99)
Hafliði Hallgrímsson: Metamorphoses DCD34059 3/3/2008 $17.99 ($19.99)
Giles Swayne: Music for Cello & Piano DCD34073 1/7/2008 $17.99 ($19.99)
The Cold Dancer: Contemporary String Quartets from Scotland DCD34038 2/12/2007 $17.99 ($19.99)
Eddie McGuire: Music for Flute, Guitar & Piano DCD34029 9/1/2006 $17.99 ($19.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items