Mahler: Symphony No. 4 - Mozart: Symphony No. 35, "Haffner"

Add To Wish List + $22.49 ($24.99) - Out of stock

This DVD is only the third filmed performance featuring Tennstedt with the BSO to be made available to the public and represents some of the earliest concert footage with this great conductor. Tennstedt has been compared with Barbirolli, Furtwängler, Karajan and Klemperer by the Gramophone Classical Music Guide, while BBC Music Magazine described ICA Classics’ recent DVD release featuring Tennstedt directing the LPO in Mahler 5 as ‘epitomising the combination of immensely detailed precision and overwhelming expressive intensity that Tennstedt’s many admirers found so special’. Tennstedt and the BSO formed a close association, together covering much of the Austro-German symphonic tradition, such as the works included on this DVD, which are described by Michael McManus as a ‘classic Tennstedt programme’. Tennstedt was well known for the depth and animation of his concert performances, to which his studio recordings seldom compare – this DVD provides a rare opportunity to witness the great man in action.
Item number ICAD 5072
Barcode 5060244550728
Release date 5/29/2012
Category Classical Music
Media type DVD VIDEO
Number of units 1
Disc: 1
1 Symphony No. 4 in G Major (NTSC) 00:57:01 Bryn-Julson, Phyllis Tennstedt, Klaus Boston Symphony Orchestra
2 Symphony No. 35 in D Major, K. 385, "Haffner" (NTS 00:20:55 Tennstedt, Klaus Boston Symphony Orchestra
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Mahler: Symphony No. 4 - Mozart: Symphony No. 35, "Haffner", please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$58.49 ($64.99)
Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony Orchestra
$58.49 ($64.99)
Legendary Conductors of the Boston Symphony Orchestra
$22.49 ($24.99)
Bach: Concerto for 2 Violins - Mozart: Sinfonia concertante - Brahms: Violin Concerto
$22.49 ($24.99)
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2
Debussy: La Mer - Iberia - Ravel: Ma mere l'oye (Munch) ICAD 5014 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Wagner: Orchestra excerpts from Die Meistersinger - Franck: Symphony in D minor ICAD 5015 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Strauss: Ein Heldenleben - Dvorak: Symphony No. 9, "From the New World" ICAD 5009 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Schubert: Piano Trios Nos. 1 and 2 ICAD 5010 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Elgar: Symphony No. 2 - Enigma Variations ICAD 5011 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 4 and 5 - Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus (excerpts) ICAD 5016 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items