Mahler: Symphony No. 9

Buy + Add To Wish List + $16.19 ($17.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The Ninth is an unusual symphony. The scheme of two slow outer movements and two fast ones in the middle is not in accordance with tradition. The keys of the four movements - D major, C major, A minor, D flat major - are at best vaguely related; nor did Mahler specify the key of the Ninth Symphony. The free, open form of the individual movements with their broadly arching structures is also confusing. Adorno once remarked that one must listen to this symphony "from the bottom to the top", ignoring formal expectations and concentrating on the individual motifs which develop, "as with a narrative when one does not know how it ends." Certain commentators have seen a novel-like structure in Mahler's symphonies, and a narrative model must be applied to the Ninth in particular - one that ends openly and uncertainly instead of affirmatively in a recapitulation
Item number PH17007
Barcode 881488170078
Release date 3/3/2017
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Sanderling, Kurt
Orchestra NDR Sinfonieorchester
Disc: 1
Symphony No. 9 in D Major01:00:00
1 Symphony No. 9 in D Major: I. Andante comodo 00:25:39 Sanderling, Kurt NDR Sinfonieorchester
2 Symphony No. 9 in D Major: II. Im Tempo eines gemä 00:16:45 Sanderling, Kurt NDR Sinfonieorchester
3 Symphony No. 9 in D Major: III. Rondo-Burleske. Al 00:12:19 Sanderling, Kurt NDR Sinfonieorchester
4 Symphony No. 9 in D Major: IV. Adagio. Sehr langsa 00:25:53 Sanderling, Kurt NDR Sinfonieorchester
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Mahler: Symphony No. 9, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$16.19 ($17.99)
Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 in E-Flat Major, Op. 55 "Eroica" & Coriolan Overture, Op. 62
$17.09 ($18.99)
Lutoslawski: Concerto for Orchestra, Little Suite & Symphony No. 4
$60.29 ($66.99)
Kurt Sanderling Edition
$20.69 ($22.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 5 in C-Sharp Minor & Kindertotenlieder
Brahms: Symphonies (Live) PH14046 10/14/2014 $26.99 ($29.99)
Sanderling - Mahler: Symphony No. 9 BBCL42322 3/1/2009 $16.19 ($17.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Sanderling - Mozart: Don Giovanni Overture - Mahler: Symphony No. 4 BBCL42482 10/1/2008 $16.19 ($17.99)
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 6 / Choral Fantasy / BRAHMS: Double Concerto PH08005 11/20/2007 $20.69 ($22.99)
Matthias Pintscher: en sourdine, tenebrae & Reflections on Narcissus 0012582KAI 1/1/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 PH05020 9/20/2005 $8.99 ($9.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items