Martinu: 3 Cello Sonatas & 7 Arabesques

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The mid-20th century has a tragic and many-faceted story to tell where musicians from Europe, both Jewish and non-Jewish, are concerned. So many were either blacklisted, dismissed from their positions and forced into exile or transported to the camps and simply eliminated. Some, like Martinu, seemed unsettled wherever they were. He was blown hither and yon by events beyond his control but he managed to stay just one step ahead of the invaders, seeking a place where he and his wife could live well despite the war – and where he could work freely. This peripatetic existence was not eased by his difficult, possibly autistic, personality – but that did not prevent him from composing a vast and very successful amount of music in all genres, including an unusually large number of pieces for the cello. Some early sets of short pieces for cello and piano certainly helped him to gain an enormous confidence and facility in that combination so that, when he came to compose his three sonatas, all written for specific cellists, the music could be filled with technical, idiomatic brilliance. Seven Arabesques of 1931 display rhythmic quirkiness and repetition, an attractively dissonant color and an entertaining individuality while generally adopting a straightforward ABA design. Melody, mechanical quasi-minimalist repetition, complicated syncopation, jazz and bravura – they’re all here in generous helpings.
Item number NI8105
Barcode 0710357810527
Release date 2/5/2021
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist York, John
Wallfisch, Raphael
Disc: 1
7 Arabesques, H. 201 "Études rhythmiques"00:15:00
1 No. 1. Poco allegro 00:01:55 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
2 No. 2. Moderato 00:02:52 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
3 No. 3. Andante moderato 00:02:38 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
4 No. 4. Allegro 00:02:22 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
5 No. 5. Adagio 00:03:28 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
6 No. 6. Allegretto 00:01:53 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
7 No. 7. Allegretto moderato 00:02:03 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
Cello Sonata No. 1, H. 27700:17:00
8 I. Poco allegro 00:06:03 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
9 II. Lento 00:05:33 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
10 III. Allegro con brio 00:06:09 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
Cello Sonata No. 2, H. 28600:21:00
11 I. Allegro 00:06:58 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
12 II. Largo 00:07:14 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
13 III. Allegro commodo 00:05:41 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
Cello Sonata No. 3, H. 34000:22:00
14 I. Poco andante 00:07:47 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
15 II. Andante 00:06:10 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
16 III. Allegro (ma non Presto) 00:05:52 Wallfisch, Raphael York, John
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Martinu: 3 Cello Sonatas & 7 Arabesques, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Brahms: Sonatas Op. 78 & 12 arranged for cello
$17.09 ($18.99)
Brahms: Cello Sonatas
$17.09 ($18.99)
Bloch: Music for Cello & Piano
$17.09 ($18.99)
Schumann: Works for Cello and Piano
Ravel & Fauré: Trios - Debussy: Sonatas NI5905 6/1/2013 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Liszt, Dohnányi & Kodály: Music for cello & piano NI5901-2 3/1/2013 $26.99 ($29.99)
Delius & Grieg: The complete works for cello & piano NI5884 9/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Mendelssohn: Piano Trios, Opp. 49 & 56 - Schumann: Five Canons, Op. 56 NI5875 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Chopin, Laks & Szymanowski: Cello Sonatas NI5862 5/1/2010 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Cello Recital: Wallfisch, Raphael - ZEMLINSKY, A. von / GOLDMARK, K. NI5806 1/1/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items