Memos: Music by Erik Lund

Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Memos is loosely related to a series of five essays by Italo Calvino, titled Six Memos for the Next Millennium. Composer Erik Lund found this work to be a fascinating read, and he felt that meaningful analogies could be made to sound and music. Erik Lund composes music as analogies and commentaries. As such, his works are usually born of ideas and sources that are not inherently musical, where he takes as his task the process of transforming these ideas into the sound domain. The result has been music which has been described as “dramatic and gripping” (Martin Adams, Irish Times). Erik Lund is professor of music composition at the University of Illinois, a composer of acoustic and electroacoustic music, and an active performer of both composed and improvised music. His compositions have won the League of Composers, International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM) and ASCAP composition competitions, and he has received grants for his work from the Musik Biennale-Berlin Festival, Meet the Composer, ASCAP, the Illinois Arts Council, and the Research Board of the University of Illinois.
Item number CRC3687
Barcode 044747368726
Release date 3/1/2019
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Various Artists
Disc: 1
1 Memos 00:13:37 Jupiter String Quartet
2 Fo-Ci 00:07:51 Richtmeyer, Debra University of Illinois Saxophone Choir
3 Shengyin 00:07:52 Lund, Erik Wang, Yu-Chen
Unknown Origins00:09:00
4 Unknown Origins 00:08:42 Fidelio Trio
5 Bridges 00:08:46 Chen, Henry Wang, Yu-Chen
… as we forgive those …00:10:00
6 ...As We Forgive Those... 00:09:35 Whiting, Drew Dierlam, Casey Gene
Peace Be00:08:00
7 Peace Be 00:08:29 Martirano, Dorothy
Dead Innocence (A Contemplation of Something Serio00:12:00
8 Dead Innocence (A Contemplation of Something Serio 00:12:13 Taylor, Stephen Andrew Illinois Modern Ensemble
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Memos: Music by Erik Lund, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Voices of Earth and Air
$15.29 ($16.99)
Henri Lazarof: Piano & Chamber Works
$15.29 ($16.99)
Roger Vogel: Cats and Bats and Things with Wings
$15.29 ($16.99)
Samuel: String Quartets & Transformations
Virgil Thomson CRC 2180 2/1/1994 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
CDCM Computer Music Series, Vol. 1 CRC 2029 1/1/1988 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items