Milhaud - Martinu: Complete Works for String Trio

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
There are several parallels to be found in the lives of the Southern French composer Darius Milhaud (1892-1974) and the Moravian-Bohemian composer Bohuslav Martinu (1890-1959). Both needed the metropolis of Paris, that seething artistic melting pot after the First World War, in order to refine their originality; both were open to all kinds of musical styles, from South American folklore to North American jazz through to Bachian counterpoint; finally, both had to flee the Germans in France in 1940, heading for the USA - Milhaud on account of being a Jew, and Martinu as a patriotic Czech in exile. The two composers' complete works for string trio, contrasted here for the first time, uncover various similarities - even though each work bears the hallmarks of its composer, and Martinu's trios were written in Paris, whilst Milhaud did not compose his until he had reached America. The works are characterised by a playful, spirited tone as well as the charm of Mediterranean and Czech folk tunes. But there is also what Milhaud termed, and valued, as "discipline" in chamber music: strict counterpoint and technical skill - utilised radically, without slipping into dry pedantry. These are four marvels of intimate music-making, assembled by the Jacques Thibaud Trio with their own artistic instinct and flair.
Item number AUD97727
Barcode 4022143977274
Release date 8/4/2017
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Ensemble Jacques Thibaud String Trio
Disc: 1
String Trio, Op. 27400:16:00
1 I. Vif 00:02:42 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
2 II. Modéré 00:04:41 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
3 III. Sérénade: Alerte 00:02:23 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
4 IV. Canons: Lent et très expressif 00:04:52 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
5 V. Jeu Fugué: Vif 00:02:34 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
Sonatine à 3, Op. 221b00:14:00
6 I. Très Modéré 00:03:32 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
7 II. Contrepoint: Lent 00:01:17 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
8 III. Anime 00:02:02 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
String Trio No. 1, H. 13600:19:00
9 I. Allegro 00:06:18 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
10 II. Andante 00:07:30 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
11 III. Poco allegro 00:05:16 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
String Trio No. 2, H. 23800:00:00
12 I. Allegro 00:07:43 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
13 II. Poco moderato - Vivo – Allegro ma non troppo 00:07:18 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Milhaud - Martinu: Complete Works for String Trio, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Mozart: Complete String Trios
$23.39 ($25.99)
Beethoven: Complete String Trios
$17.09 ($18.99)
Cras - Reger - Dohnanyi - Kodaly
$17.09 ($18.99)
Schubert: The Amadeus Quartet Recordings, Vol. 2 (Berlin, 1950-1964)
Brahms: The Complete Piano Trios AUD91668 5/28/2013 $26.99 ($29.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Brahms: The Complete Chamber Music for Clarinet AUD91662 3/26/2013 $26.99 ($29.99)
Out of stock
Schumann: Piano Trio in G Minor, Op. 17 - Fantasiestücke - Piano Trio No. 3 AUD92549 1/29/2013 $17.99 ($19.99)
Temporal Variations - Music for Oboe and Piano between 1935 and 1941 AUD92539 9/25/2012 $17.99 ($19.99)
Shostakovich: Complete String Quartets AUD21411 4/26/2011 $53.99 ($59.99)
Janacek: Complete String Quartets AUD92545 11/16/2010 $17.99 ($19.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items