Morton Feldman: Coptic Light - String Quartet and Orchestra

Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Meditative sound magic from New York City: Together with colleagues and friends such as John Cage, Christian Wolff and Earle Brown, Morton Feldman formed a circle of pre-eminent individualists within the American avant-garde movement of the 20th century, which, commencing in New York, founded a current of international significance. Crucial for his artistic development was undoubtedly his meeting with John Cage (1912–92), with whom he was in close contact after 1950. They mutually inspired each other to create music away from the compositional techniques conventional up to then, which particularly applied to the definition of specific notes, pitches and note durations or regular rhythm. It was also a commission from the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra and its Principal Conductor, Michael Tilson Thomas that led to the composition of String Quartet and Orchestra in 1973. Feldman’s final completed work Coptic Light, written in 1986, displays an even more gigantic orchestra than that in String Quartet and Orchestra. In his sensitive works we always gain the impression that they are cautious attempts to achieve coherent musical results, without running against the character of the instruments.
Item number C5378
Barcode 845221053783
Release date 6/5/2020
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Morton Feldman: Coptic Light - String Quartet and Orchestra, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Frederick Ii: Sinfonias / Flute Concertos
$8.99 ($9.99)
Barber, S.: Capricorn Concerto / Serenade, Op. 1 / Foote, A.: Air and Gavotte / Suite in E Major
$15.29 ($16.99)
Trumpet Recital: Friedrich, Reinhold - ENDLER, J.S. / TELEMANN, G.P. / FASCH, J.F. (Baroque Trumpet Concertos)
$15.29 ($16.99)
Mozart, W.A.: Serenade No. 10, "Gran Partita" / Divertimento in E-Flat Major, K. 252
Eisler, H.: Kleine Sinfonie / 5 Orchestral Pieces / Sturm-Suite / Kammersinfonie C10500 1/1/1995 $15.29 ($16.99)
Brunetti, G.: Symphonies Nos. 22, 26 and 36 C10489 1/1/1994 $8.99 ($9.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Martin, F.: Ballade for Flute and Orchestra / Nielsen, C.: Flute Concerto / Ibert, J.: Flute Concerto / Bernstein, L.: Halil C10495 1/1/1994 $8.99 ($9.99)
Haydn: Die sieben letzten Worte unseres Erlösers am Kreuze C10465 1/1/1993 $15.29 ($16.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Kraus, J.M.: Symphonies in C Minor / E-Flat Major / C Major / D Major C10396 1/1/1991 $15.29 ($16.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Martin, F.: Symphony, Op. 4 / Dittersdorf, C.D. Von: La Prise De La Bastille / Gossec, F.-J.: Symphony, Op. 3, No. 6 C10280 1/1/1989 $8.99 ($9.99)
Few in stock Buy +

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Jin Yin
Buy + $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items