Mozart: Complete String Trios

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99) - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The complete Mozart works for string trio in a new recording with the Jacques Thibaud String Trio: alongside the well-known Divertimento, K. 563, this album contains the Six Preludes and Fugues, K. 404a, as well as the fragment K. Anh. 66. This fragment and the Prelude and Fugue, K. 404a, No. 6 in F minor are available for download as bonus tracks. The Preludes and Fugues are unique documents of Mozart's study of Bach's œuvre. They contain three fugues from The Well-Tempered Clavier, one fugue each from The Art of Fugue and an organ sonata, as well as one fugue by Wilhelm Friedemann Bach. Four of the preludes are probably Mozart's own, whilst two are from Bach's trio sonatas for organ. Mozart produced his arrangements for private Sunday gatherings at the home of Baron van Swieten, where he would play the viola part. Mozart's study of the "old masters" would prove an important influence on his later compositions. The six-movement Divertimento, K. 563, of 1788 is considered as the string trio par excellence. It is chamber music of the highest order, with rich harmonies and elaborately crafted counterpoint. Here, Mozart makes greater technical demands on the performers than in his violin concertos or his Sinfonia concertante, K. 364, for violin, viola and orchestra. In his three-part writing, Mozart reaches astonishing depths, with double stops at times imitating the sound of a quartet. All three string instruments are treated completely equally, each in turn taking the lead; the viola and cello are given especially rewarding melodic lines. This magnificent work condenses the entire potential of string trio playing into a 50-minute late Mozartian experience.
Item number AUD97773
Barcode 4022143977731
Release date 8/7/2020
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Ensemble Jacques Thibaud String Trio
Disc: 1
Divertimento in E-Flat Major, K. 56300:42:00
1 I. Allegro 00:09:08 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
2 II. Adagio 00:09:10 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
3 III. Menuetto: Allegretto - Trio 00:06:13 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
4 IV. Andante 00:07:28 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
5 V. Menuetto: Allegretto - Trio I - Trio II 00:05:29 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
6 VI. Allegro 00:07:02 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
6 Preludes & Fugues, K. 404a00:30:00
7 Prelude No. 1 (after BWV 853) 00:04:00 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
8 Fugue No. 1 (after BWV 853) 00:05:08 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
9 Prelude No. 2 (after BWV 883) 00:03:20 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
10 Fugue No. 2 (after BWV 883) 00:03:09 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
11 Prelude No. 3 (after BWV 882) 00:02:58 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
12 Fugue No. 3 (after BWV 882) 00:02:35 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
13 Prelude No. 4 (after BWV 527, second movement) 00:03:07 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
14 Fugue No. 4 (after BWV 1080, Contrapunctus 8) 00:06:13 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
15 Prelude No. 5 (after BWV 526, second movement) 00:03:12 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
16 Fugue No. 5 (after BWV 526, third movement) 00:03:48 Jacques Thibaud String Trio
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Mozart: Complete String Trios, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Milhaud - Martinu: Complete Works for String Trio
$23.39 ($25.99)
Beethoven: Complete String Trios
$17.09 ($18.99)
Cras - Reger - Dohnanyi - Kodaly
$17.09 ($18.99)
Schubert: The Amadeus Quartet Recordings, Vol. 2 (Berlin, 1950-1964)
Brahms: The Complete Piano Trios AUD91668 5/28/2013 $26.99 ($29.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Brahms: The Complete Chamber Music for Clarinet AUD91662 3/26/2013 $26.99 ($29.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Schumann: Piano Trio in G Minor, Op. 17 - Fantasiestücke - Piano Trio No. 3 AUD92549 1/29/2013 $17.99 ($19.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Temporal Variations - Music for Oboe and Piano between 1935 and 1941 AUD92539 9/25/2012 $17.99 ($19.99)
Shostakovich: Complete String Quartets AUD21411 4/26/2011 $53.99 ($59.99)
Janacek: Complete String Quartets AUD92545 11/16/2010 $17.99 ($19.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items