New Friends / Old Friends

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
As the title suggests, New Friends / Old Friends is a reflective and thoughtful survey of musical styles (both classical and contemporary) that have enriched Deon Nielsen Price’s composing and performing career – both currently (New Friends) and in the past (Old Friends). In May 2013, Price was commissioned by Park City (Utah) Dance to compose the music for a ballet based on the French-folktale Toads and Diamonds. The music, consisting of fifteen different tableaus, is inspired by a well-known French folk song and by various musical styles – from classical Viennese and late 19th century salon to contemporary – to represent the story’s characters and dances. Women in Christ’s Line, a three movement piano work composed in 2004, contains innovative piano techniques, including arm clusters, crossed hands, and independence of keys in each hand. Several works by the Great Masters have become Deon Price’s “Old Friends” which she has literally played in concerts globally. Among these are Debussy’s Clair De Lune and Feux D’Artifice, and several Chopin works including Fantaise Impromptu, Op. 66; Revolutionary Etude in C Minor, Op. 10/12; Cello Etude in C Sharp Minor Op. 25/7; and the Black Key Etude in G Flat Major, Op. 10/5.
Item number CD1222
Barcode 021475012220
Release date 8/12/2014
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Composer Price, Deon Nielsen
Disc: 1
Toads and Diamonds00:30:00
1 Toads and Diamonds: Opening Scene 00:02:14 Price, Deon Nielsen
2 Toads and Diamonds: At the Well 00:02:09 Price, Deon Nielsen
3 Toads and Diamonds: Diamonds 00:03:11 Price, Deon Nielsen
4 Toads and Diamonds: Pearls 00:01:58 Price, Deon Nielsen
5 Toads and Diamonds: Sunflowers 00:02:05 Price, Deon Nielsen
6 Toads and Diamonds: Roses 00:01:55 Price, Deon Nielsen
7 Toads and Diamonds: Rubies 00:02:39 Price, Deon Nielsen
8 Toads and Diamonds: Confrontation Scene 00:02:33 Price, Deon Nielsen
9 Toads and Diamonds: Toads 00:02:54 Price, Deon Nielsen
10 Toads and Diamonds: Snakes 00:01:51 Price, Deon Nielsen
11 Toads and Diamonds: Spiders 00:01:42 Price, Deon Nielsen
12 Toads and Diamonds: Bats 00:02:19 Price, Deon Nielsen
13 Toads and Diamonds: Cockroaches 00:01:44 Price, Deon Nielsen
14 Toads and Diamonds: Vengeance 00:01:17 Price, Deon Nielsen
15 Toads and Diamonds: Pas de deux 00:02:41 Price, Deon Nielsen
Women in Christ's Line00:03:00
16 Women in Christ's Line 00:03:00 Price, Deon Nielsen
Suite bergamasque, L. 7500:08:32
17 Suite bergamasque, L. 75: III. Clair de lune 00:04:40 Price, Deon Nielsen
Préludes, Book 2, L. 12300:16:41
18 Preludes, Book 2, L. 123: XII. Feux d'artifice 00:06:06 Price, Deon Nielsen
Fantasy-impromptu in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 6600:05:00
19 Fantasy-Impromptu in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 66 00:07:00 Price, Deon Nielsen
Études, Op. 1000:11:08
20 12 Etudes, Op. 10: No. 12 in C Minor, "Revolutiona 00:03:40 Price, Deon Nielsen
Étude No. 19 in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 25 No. 7 (Live)00:14:04
21 12 Etudes, Op. 25: No. 7 in C-Sharp Minor 00:05:10 Price, Deon Nielsen
Études, Op. 1000:11:08
22 12 Etudes, Op. 10: No. 5 in G-Flat Major, "Black K 00:02:21 Price, Deon Nielsen
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like New Friends / Old Friends, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Deon Nielsen Price: Radiance in Motion
Sunrays II - City Views
Vaughan, C.: Oriental Translations for Denishawn / Violin Concerto / Organ Symphony No. 3
Tribute: Jim Roseveare Plays the Wiltern Kimball Theater Organ (Live)
Price, D.N.: To The Children of War / Diversion / Big Sur Triptych CD1056 1/1/1996 $16.99
Kim, B.-K.: Festival Symphony / Choyop / The Seven Last Words of Christ / Epitaph CD1046 1/1/1996 $16.99
Gold, E.: String Quartet / Songs of Love and Parting / Piano Sonata CD1062 6/1/1991 $16.99
Pergolesi, G.B.: Laudate Pueri / Mass in G Major / Salve Regina / Messa Solenne CD1039 11/1/1989 $16.99
Warren, E.R.: Good Morning, America! / Suite for Orchestra / the Crystal Lake / Along the Western Shore CD1042 11/1/1989 $16.99
Bland, E.: Piece for Chamber Orchestra / for Bassoon / Sketches Set 7 / for Flute / Sketches Set 1 / Brass Quintet / for Flute CD1026 10/1/1987 $16.99
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items