Orpheus Descending

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This release offers one potential answer to a particular question: what happens to a musical performance when it is directed towards the bringing-to-life of a story? In this case, that story is the iconic one of Orpheus and Eurydice, realized in eight different ways by eight different composers of the past. Multiple prizewinning harpsichordist Mark Edwards—whose interpretations challenge the usual boundaries between musical text and act—performs works that, if they don’t explicitly refer to the Orphic narrative allying music, death, and rebirth, surely cast some light on it and are in turn illuminated by it. Mark Edwards reveals himself a lucid and inspired performer, following the hero as he descends, like him accomplishing wonders along the way through his art. First prize winner in the 2012 Musica Antiqua Bruges International Harpsichord Competition, Canadian harpsichordist and organist Mark Edwards (b. 1986) is recognized for his captivating performances, bringing the listener “to new and unpredictable regions, using all of the resources of his instrument, [...] of his virtuosity, and of his imagination” (La Libre Belgique).
Item number EMCCD-7778
Barcode 629048208324
Release date 1/20/2017
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Edwards, Mark
Disc: 1
Fantasia Chromatica in Dorian Mode, SwWV 25800:08:00
1 Fantasia chromatica, SwWV 258 00:07:24 Edwards, Mark
Toccata in G Major00:08:00
2 Toccata in G Major 00:09:16 Edwards, Mark
Passacaglia in D Minor00:02:00
3 Passacaglia in D Minor 00:06:04 Edwards, Mark
Partita No. 20 in D Major, FbWV 620, "Meditation s00:11:00
4 Partita No. 20 in D Major, FbWV 620: No. 4, Médita 00:05:05 Edwards, Mark
Musicalischer Parnassus: Uranie, Suite No. 900:21:00
5 Musicalischer Parnassus, Suite No. 9 "Uranie": IX. 00:04:53 Edwards, Mark
Hexachordum Apollinis00:15:00
6 Hexachordum Apollinis: No. 6, Aria sebaldina, P. 1 00:07:11 Edwards, Mark
Musicalische Vorstellung einiger biblischer Histor00:15:00
7 Musicalische Vorstellung einiger biblischer Histor 00:13:17 Edwards, Mark
Violin Partita No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004: V. Chac00:13:00
8 Violin Partita No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004: V. Chac 00:13:13 Edwards, Mark
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Orpheus Descending, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Italia: Bellissimo Seicento!
J.S. Bach: Keyboard Works
Geminiani: Pièces de clavecin
Frescobaldi, G.: Affetti cantabile
Couture, Johanne: La belle homicide EMCCD-7758 10/28/2008 $16.99
D'Anglebert, J.H.: Pieces de clavecin EMCCD-7759 9/30/2008 $16.99
Piazzolla, A.: Grand Tango (Le) / Horn, M.: Variations On Libertango / Suite Troileana / Tren A Constitucion / Tormenta 119 9/30/2008 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
KISS 112180-2 1/1/1994 $26.99 ($29.99)
Few in stock Buy +
SYMPHONY NO. 5, FANTAISIES SYM 111968-2 1/1/1994 $8.99 ($9.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
SYMPHONIES NOS. 3 AND 4 111967-2 1/1/1994 $8.99 ($9.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Buy + $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items