Paine: Symphony No. 1, As You Like it Overture & The Tempest

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
John Knowles Paine was one of the ‘Boston Six’, a group of important American composers active in the last quarter of the nineteenth century. His German training equipped him with considerable formal skill and he soon rose to become a pioneer of the symphonic tradition in America. Paine’s Symphony No. 1 received a tremendous reception at its première on account of its attractive themes, skilful orchestration and accomplished design. The Overture As You Like It is notable for its graceful and tuneful themes, whereas Shakespeare’s Tempest is a more adventurous and powerful Lisztian tone poem.
Item number 8559747
Barcode 636943974728
Release date 9/24/2013
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Falletta, JoAnn
Orchestra Ulster Orchestra
Disc: 1
1 Overture to As You Like It, Op. 28 00:10:27 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
2 The Tempest, Op. 31: I. The Storm 00:03:43 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
3 The Tempest, Op. 31: II. Calm and Happy Scene Befo 00:04:53 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
4 The Tempest, Op. 31: II. Ariel 00:00:37 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
5 The Tempest, Op. 31: III. Prospero's Tale 00:03:16 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
6 The Tempest, Op. 31: IV. The Happy Love of Ferdina 00:02:27 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
7 The Tempest, Op. 31: IV. Episode with Caliban - Tr 00:05:08 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
8 Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 23: I. Allegro con 00:10:34 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
9 Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 23: II. Allegro viv 00:08:49 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
10 Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 23: III. Adagio 00:09:45 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
11 Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 23: IV. Allegro viv 00:10:59 Falletta, JoAnn Ulster Orchestra
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Paine: Symphony No. 1, As You Like it Overture & The Tempest, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
Herbert: Cello Concertos Nos. 1, 2, & Irish Rhapsody
$10.79 ($11.99)
Paine: Orchestral Works, Vol. 2
$11.69 ($12.99)
Moeran: In the Mountain Country
$11.69 ($12.99)
Moeran: Cello Concerto - Serenade
Gallagher: Orchestral Music 8559652 9/28/2010 $11.99
Respighi: Vetrate Di Chiesa - Impressioni Brasiliane - Rossiniana 8557711 11/20/2007 $11.69 ($12.99)
COPLAND: Prairie Journal / The Red Pony Suite / Letter from Home 8559240 10/31/2006 $11.99
GROFE: Death Valley Suite / Hudson River Suite / Hollywood Suite 8559017 9/1/2002 $11.99
THOMSON, V.: Symphonies Nos. 2 and 3 / Symphony on a Hymn Tune 8559022 2/1/2000 $11.99
SOUSA: On Stage 8559008 10/1/1999 $11.99

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items