Paul Tortelier: The RIAS Recordings

Buy + Add To Wish List + $31.49 ($34.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Paul Tortelier was, alongside Pierre Fournier, the greatest French cellist of his time and one of the most sought-after internationally. He launched his career, which lasted well over 50 years, in the late 1930s. In 1948, a tour of Europe took him to Berlin: until his death in 1990 he was to return many times to the city to perform concerts and make radio recordings. His studio recordings for the RIAS are now released for the very first time. He is accompanied by the RIAS house pianists of the time, Klaus Billing and Lothar Broddack. Paul Tortelier, who was principal cello of orchestras in Paris, Monte Carlo and Boston in the 1930s and early 1940s, met Pablo Casals in 1950 who engaged him at his newly founded festival in Prades (and Perpignan in 1951). The music of Johann Sebastian Bach remained a linchpin in Paul Tortelier's musical thinking for his entire life. This edition presents Tortelier's highly expressive reading of the solo cello suite in D major, whose musical flow is never interrupted by any capricious interpretational liberties. This attitude, combining the factual Bach playing of the pre-war era with the unbridled passion of his idol Casals, was highly unusual at the time. This edition presents chamber music recordings from the archives of Deutschlandfunk Kultur: an impressive illustration of this great cellist's enormous range of repertoire at an early peak of his career. Three works included here are now available for the first time on album in his interpretations: Robert Schumann's Fantasie­stücke, Op. 73, Alfredo Casella's cello sonata in C major and Tortelier's own Trois p'tits tours, of which only the third piece, Le Pitre, has previously been available on record.
Item number AUD21455
Barcode 4022143214553
Release date 2/7/2020
Category Classical Music
Number of units 3
Classical Artist Tortelier, Paul
Billing, Klaus
Broddack, Lothar
Disc: 1
Cello Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 102 No. 200:22:00
1 I. Allegro con brio 00:07:00 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
2 II. Adagio con moto sentimento d'affetto 00:09:11 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
3 III. Allegro - Allegro fugato 00:04:34 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
Cello Sonata No. 2 in D Major, Op. 58, MWV Q 3200:22:00
4 I. Allegro assai vivace 00:08:17 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
5 II. Allegretto scherzando 00:05:58 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
6 III. Adagio 00:05:04 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
7 IV. Molto allegro e vivace 00:07:18 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
Cello Sonata No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 3800:25:00
8 I. Allegro non troppo 00:10:58 Tortelier, Paul Billing, Klaus
9 II. Allegretto quasi menuetto 00:06:09 Tortelier, Paul Billing, Klaus
10 III. Allegro 00:07:01 Tortelier, Paul Billing, Klaus
Disc: 2
Cello Suite No. 6 in D Major, BWV 101200:27:00
1 I. Prelude 00:05:40 Tortelier, Paul
2 II. Allemande 00:06:34 Tortelier, Paul
3 III. Courante 00:02:39 Tortelier, Paul
4 IV. Sarabande 00:04:53 Tortelier, Paul
5 V. Gavotte I-II 00:03:41 Tortelier, Paul
6 VI. Gigue 00:04:05 Tortelier, Paul
Cello Sonata No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 11700:18:00
7 I. Allegro 00:06:18 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
8 II. Andante 00:07:52 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
9 III. Allegro vivo 00:04:45 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
Papillon, Op. 7700:03:00
10 Papillon, Op. 77 00:02:45 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
Introduction and Variations on Dal tuo stellato so00:06:00
11 Introduction: Adagio 00:03:36 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
12 Theme: Tempo alla Marcia 00:01:21 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
13 Variation 1 00:01:15 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
14 Variation 2: Rondo 00:01:03 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
15 Variation 3 - Finale 00:01:11 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
Fantasiestücke, Op. 73 (Version for Cello & Piano)00:11:22
16 I. Zart und mit Ausdruck 00:03:01 Tortelier, Paul Billing, Klaus
17 II. Lebhaft, leicht 00:03:31 Tortelier, Paul Billing, Klaus
18 III. Rasch und mit Feuer 00:04:21 Tortelier, Paul Billing, Klaus
Disc: 3
Cello Sonata No. 2 in C Major, Op. 4500:26:00
1 I. Preludio: Largo molto e sostenuto 00:09:48 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
2 II. Bourree: Allegro molto vivace e scherzando 00:04:14 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
3 III. Largo 00:07:40 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
4 IV. Rondo: Allegro molto vivace, quasi giga 00:04:36 Tortelier, Paul Broddack, Lothar
Cello Sonata in B Minor, Op. 800:31:58
5 I. Allegro maestoso ma appassionato 00:08:42 Tortelier, Paul
6 II. Adagio (con grand espressione) - Con moto - Te 00:10:58 Tortelier, Paul
7 III. Allegro molto vivace 00:10:53 Tortelier, Paul
Trois p'tits tours00:09:56
8 I. Lever de Rideau - L'indifferent 00:03:40 Tortelier, Paul Billing, Klaus
9 II. Ballerine 00:03:06 Tortelier, Paul Billing, Klaus
10 III. Le Pitre 00:03:10 Tortelier, Paul Billing, Klaus
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Paul Tortelier: The RIAS Recordings, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Julius Katchen Berlin Recordings (1962, 1964)
$53.99 ($59.99)
Beethoven: The Amadeus Quartet Recordings, Vol. 1 (Berlin, 1950-1967)
$53.99 ($59.99)
The Second Viennese School Project: Schoenberg, Berg, Webern (Berlin, 1949-1965)
$26.99 ($29.99)
Bronislav Gimpel: Violin Concertos & Sonatas (1954-1957)
Franck: Complete Organ Works AUD21413 9/25/2012 $53.99 ($59.99)
Few in stock Buy +
RIAS BACH CANTATAS PROJECT AUD21415 4/24/2012 $53.99 ($59.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Stylus phantasticus AUD20012 5/31/2011 $13.49 ($14.99)
Ferenc Fricsay Conducts Bela Bartok: The Early Recordings AUD21407 2/22/2011 $26.99 ($29.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Solomon plays Beethoven, Schumann, Bach, Chopin, Brahms AUD23422 9/28/2010 $17.09 ($18.99)
Out of stock
Beethoven: Piano Sonatas AUD23420 7/27/2010 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items