Phillip Ramey: Music for French Horn

Buy + Add To Wish List + $16.99 - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Widely recognized as one of the world’s best horn players, Philip Myers also inspired as well as commissioned most of the pieces on this historically significant album with world premieres of horn music by American composer Phillip Ramey, whose works have been performed by such orchestras as the New York Philharmonic and the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and whose Horn Concerto (with Philip Myers as soloist) was commissioned by the New York Philharmonic for their 150th anniversary. This release presents world premieres of works for solo horn, for two horns, and for horn in different combinations with piano and/or violin, stunningly performed by hornists Philip Myers and Howard Wall, whose long-time partnership as New York Philharmonic musicians extends into fantastic chamber music collaboration, also including splendid contributions by pianist Virginia Perry Lamb and violinist Elmira Darvarova (a former Metropolitan Opera concertmaster). Some of the works are newly recorded, while others are only now receiving their premiere recording after first performances over twenty years ago, with the Trio Concertant recorded live, and the Dialogue, and the Sonata-Ballade restored from archival material. All of the works on this release are magnificently performed contributions to the horn repertoire.
Item number AF1704
Barcode 888295583657
Release date 6/16/2017
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Wall, Howard
Myers, Philip
Darvarova, Elmira
Lamb, Virginia Perry
Disc: 1
Trio concertant00:22:00
1 Trio concertant: I. Moderato (Live) 00:08:43 Darvarova, Elmira Myers, Philip Lamb, Virginia Perry
2 Trio concertant: II. Cadenzas (Allegro moderato) [ 00:06:34 Darvarova, Elmira Myers, Philip Lamb, Virginia Perry
3 Trio concertant: III. Allegro giocoso (Live) 00:06:50 Darvarova, Elmira Myers, Philip Lamb, Virginia Perry
4 Elegy 00:05:43 Myers, Philip Lamb, Virginia Perry
5 Gargoyles: I. Nervous (Andante) 00:02:27 Wall, Howard
6 Gargoyles: II. Romantic (Lento) 00:03:23 Wall, Howard
7 Gargoyles: III. Frolicsome (Moderato) 00:02:00 Wall, Howard
8 Gargoyles: IV. Doleful (Adagio) 00:02:55 Wall, Howard
9 Gargoyles: V. Strident (Moderato con moto) 00:02:16 Wall, Howard
10 Gargoyles: VI. Malicious (Moderato) 00:03:07 Wall, Howard
11 Gargoyles: VII. Somnolent (Adagio) 00:03:33 Wall, Howard
12 Gargoyles: VIII. Triumphant (Allegro marcato) 00:02:47 Wall, Howard
2 Duos00:10:00
13 2 Duos: No. 1, Meditation (Adagio) 00:03:28 Darvarova, Elmira Wall, Howard
14 2 Duos: No. 2, Ballade (Adagio con moto) 00:06:41 Darvarova, Elmira Wall, Howard
15 Dialogue 00:05:52 Myers, Philip Wall, Howard
16 Sonata-Ballade: I. Andante - Allegro moderato - Ad 00:11:35 Myers, Philip Lamb, Virginia Perry Wall, Howard
17 Sonata-Ballade: II. Allegro giocoso 00:03:40 Myers, Philip Lamb, Virginia Perry Wall, Howard
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Phillip Ramey: Music for French Horn, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

David Amram: So in America
Infinite Piazzolla
Peace Worshipers
C. Schumann, Beethoven & Franck: Works for Violin & Piano
Adiós Nonino AF1603 10/28/2016 $16.99
Amalgam AF1602 6/24/2016 $16.99
J.S. Bach: Sonatas for Viola da gamba & Harpsichord, BWV 1027-1029 AF1503 3/25/2016 $16.99
Dawn & Twilight: The First & Last Violin Sonatas of Cyril Scott AF1504 11/13/2015 $16.99
Soul Strings AF1502 9/25/2015 $15.99
Alfano: Violin Sonata - Piano Quintet 8572753 8/30/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items