PianOrchestra 2

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Prior to the age of mechanical reproduction, music lovers had two primary ways in which to enjoy music: they could attend concerts, which was fraught with difficulties due to the dilapidated state of the road system and lack of transportation methods, or they could make music themselves, giving rise to the tradition of the house concert during the 19th and the first half of the 20th century. The increase in importance and popularity of Hausmusik was enabled by rapid technical advancements in the development of the piano. Composers and virtuosos created an ever-increasing number of transcriptions and arrangements for piano two or four hands with the intention of making them available to a wider audience. This recording presents a selection of arrangements of orchestral works for piano solo, arranged specifically for this purpose, by composers Bedrich Smetana, Igor Stravinsky, Sergei Prokofiev, Maurice Ravel, and Aram Khachaturian. New York-based French-Swiss pianist Francois-Xavier Poizat provides a wealth of tone colors while exploiting the virtuosic capabilities of the piano to its limits.
Item number ARS38249
Barcode 4260052382493
Release date 6/22/2018
Category Classical Music
Media type SACD
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Poizat, Francois Xavier
Disc: 1
Má vlast (My Fatherland) (arr. H. von Kàan-Albést 00:00:00
1 Má vlast, JB 1:112: No. 2, Vltava (Arr. H. von Kàa 00:11:44 Poizat, Francois Xavier
Petrushka (arr. T. Szanto)00:04:00
2 Petrushka (Excerpts Arr. T. Szanto): The Shrovetid 00:02:22 Poizat, Francois Xavier
3 Petrushka (Excerpts Arr. T. Szanto): Petrushka's R 00:04:20 Poizat, Francois Xavier
4 Petrushka (Excerpts Arr. T. Szanto): The Moor's Ro 00:02:58 Poizat, Francois Xavier
5 Petrushka (Excerpts Arr. T. Szanto): Dance of the 00:00:40 Poizat, Francois Xavier
6 Petrushka (Excerpts Arr. T. Szanto): Russian Dance 00:02:46 Poizat, Francois Xavier
Spartacus: Adagio (arr. M. Cameron for piano)00:09:06
7 Spartacus: Adagio (Arr. M. Cameron for Piano) 00:08:02 Poizat, Francois Xavier
3 Pieces, Op. 9600:12:00
8 3 Pieces, Op. 96: No. 1, Waltz (From "War & Peace" 00:05:50 Poizat, Francois Xavier
9 3 Pieces, Op. 96: No. 2, Contredanse (From "Lermon 00:02:56 Poizat, Francois Xavier
10 3 Pieces, Op. 96: No. 3, Mephisto-waltz (From "Ler 00:02:47 Poizat, Francois Xavier
La valse (version for piano solo) (arr. A. Ghindin00:13:32
11 La valse (Version for Piano) [Arr. A. Ghindin] 00:12:31 Poizat, Francois Xavier
Suite for Variety Orchestra (arr. F. Noack for pia00:03:00
12 Suite for Variety Orchestra: VII. Waltz No. 2 (Arr 00:03:29 Poizat, Francois Xavier
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like PianOrchestra 2, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Schumann, R.: Pedal Piano Music (Complete) - Studies, Op. 56 / 4 Sketches, Op. 58 / 6 Fugues On B-A-C-H
Cello Quartet Arrangements - Handy, W.C. / Arlen, H. / Mayfield, P. / Ellington, D. / Winner, J.E. / Mackeben, T.
Organ Recital: Schmeding, Martin - KUHNAU, J. / BACH, J.S. / HOMILIUS, G.A. / WALTHER, J.G. / KREBS, J.L. / RINCK, J.H.C. / MENDELSSOHN, Felix
Saint-Saens, C.: Piano Duos, Vol. 1 - Suite Algerienne / Variations On A Theme of Beethoven / Scherzo ARS38008 1/1/2009 $19.99
Piano Music - Ravel, M. / Khatchaturian, A. / Liszt, F. / Turek, T. / Thuillier, E. / Lavignac, A. / Pagnoncelli, G.B. ARS38010 1/1/2009 $19.99
Few in stock Buy +
Grieg, E.: From Holberg's Time / Piano Sonata, Op. 7 / Peer Gynt Suite No. 1 ARS38004 1/1/2009 $19.99
Few in stock Buy +
Schmidt, F.: Organ Music (Complete), Vol. 1 - 4 Kleine Choralvorspiele / Chaconne / Variationen Und Fuge Uber Ein Eigenes Thema ARS38012 1/1/2009 $19.99
Blarr, O.G.: Organ Music, Vol. 3 - Healing Water / Der Lobende / Holy Tango Ii ARS38017 1/1/2009 $19.99
Bach, J.S: Cello Suites Nos. 1, 3 and 5 ARS38018 1/1/2009 $19.99
Out of stock
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items