Plastic Facts

Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
"Plastic Facts" is the debut album of New Thread Quartet, a NYC-based saxophone quartet hailed as “adventurous, rule-breaking” (NewMusicBox). The album serves as a showcase of modern compositions for saxophone quartet which utilize extended techniques, and includes music by Michael Djupstrom, Marcelo Lazcano, Anthony Gatto, and Richard Carrick. The first piece, “Test,” refers to the difficulty of writing for the performers. Michael Djupstrom wanted to make it a real challenge to play- and also signify that the work represents something new for the composer as well, especially in its harmonic language. This piece is followed by “Ser,” which is built around the Buddhist phrase “We are what we think. Everything we are arose from our thoughts” from the Dhammapada. Next is the title track, “Plastic Facts,” which is an expression the composer first encountered in the writings of architect Le Corbusier. The term “plastic facts” refers to basic architectural necessities that are constraints to work with, or bend somehow, to make something new and beautiful. The final piece, “Harmonixity,” is a sonically inspired composition based on two different acoustical phenomena. One is the natural harmonic overtone of each saxophone and how its overtones change as it blends between the fundamental and lower harmonics. The second is the resulting harmony of acoustical reverberation, where a single line creates a sonic tapestry through its sustaining decay.
Item number FCR221
Barcode 655646189277
Release date 1/18/2019
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Ensemble New Thread Quartet
Disc: 1
1 Test 00:08:46 New Thread Quartet
2 Ser 00:06:15 New Thread Quartet
Plastic Facts00:06:00
3 Plastic Facts 00:06:28 New Thread Quartet
4 Harmonixity 00:10:44 New Thread Quartet
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Plastic Facts, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Beyond Romance – Songs by Ben Bierman
$15.29 ($16.99)
Resounding Earth
$15.29 ($16.99)
$15.29 ($16.99)
The Bright and Hollow Sky
Breaking Training FCR111 5/27/2010 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Lieberson: Tashi Quartet - Reynolds: Shadowed Narrative FCR112 3/30/2010 $15.29 ($16.99)
Aliento FCR109 10/15/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Sturm - Compositions by Adam Silverman FCR107 8/1/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
fm Flexible Music FCR105 3/27/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Abandoned Time FCR104 9/1/2008 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items