Quartetto Italiano - The Complete RIAS Recordings

Buy + Add To Wish List + $31.49 ($34.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Quartetto Italiano- The ensemble's confidently-chosen name made it clear from the outset that the Quartetto Italiano saw itself not simply as an Italian string quartet among many, but as the authoritative one. The ensemble was soon recognized as a pioneer of Italian chamber music culture following the Second World War. Through their tireless obsession with detail, in-depth exploration of the works' musical expression, and the remarkable homogeneity of their quartet sound, the Quartetto Italiano conquered a firm place in the top league of leading string quartets over the first two decades of their career. The first release of the complete productions realized by the Quartetto Italiano for Berlin's RIAS between 1951 and 1963 highlights two aspects that the musicians would increasingly neglect in their later recordings: firstly, the focus on the music of their fellow countrymen, represented here in rarely-heard works by Gaetano Donizetti, Luigi Cherubini, and Gian Francesco Malipiero; and secondly, the enormous breadth of their repertoire, which ranged from Joseph Haydn, the father of the classical string quartet, to Dmitri Shostakovich's Seventh String Quartet. Three works on this release (Cherubini, Donizetti, and Shostakovich) can be heard performed by the Quartetto Italiano for the first time on this format. This release forms part of the series "Legendary Recordings" and bears the stamp "1st Master Release". The term stands for the exceptional quality of audite's archive releases, which are all, without exception, produced using original tapes from the radio archives. Usually, these are the original analogue tapes with tape speeds of up to 76 cm/s, which are of astonishingly high quality, even by today's standards. In addition, the process of re-mastering - executed with professional expertise and sensitivity - reveals hitherto hidden details of the interpretations, creating a sonic image of superior quality.
Item number AUD21456
Barcode 4022143214560
Release date 5/3/2019
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 3
Ensemble Quartetto Italiano
Disc: 1
String Quartet No. 7 in F Minor00:20:20
1 I. Agitatissimo 00:05:48 Quartetto Italiano
2 II. Adagio ma non troppo 00:05:30 Quartetto Italiano
3 III. Presto 00:04:51 Quartetto Italiano
4 IV. Marcia lugubre 00:06:15 Quartetto Italiano
String Quartet No. 5 in F Major00:25:00
5 I. Moderato assai 00:07:55 Quartetto Italiano
6 II. Adagio 00:06:49 Quartetto Italiano
7 III. Scherzo: Allegro non troppo 00:05:38 Quartetto Italiano
8 IV. Finale: Allegro vivace 00:05:15 Quartetto Italiano
String Quartet No. 400:14:00
9 Allegro - 00:08:29 Quartetto Italiano
10 Allegro 00:06:42 Quartetto Italiano
Disc: 2
String Quartet No. 7 in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 10800:14:00
1 I. Allegretto 00:03:32 Quartetto Italiano
2 II. Lento 00:04:05 Quartetto Italiano
3 III. Allegro - Allegretto 00:05:37 Quartetto Italiano
String Quartet in F Major, M. 3500:29:00
4 I. Allegro moderato, tres doux 00:08:44 Quartetto Italiano
5 II. Assez vif, très rhythmé 00:06:58 Quartetto Italiano
6 III. Très Lent 00:09:05 Quartetto Italiano
7 IV. Vif et agité 00:05:57 Quartetto Italiano
String Quartet No. 8 in B-Flat Major, Op. 168, D. 00:28:00
8 I. Allegro ma non troppo 00:11:31 Quartetto Italiano
9 II. Andante sostenuto 00:10:13 Quartetto Italiano
10 III. Menuetto - Trio: Allegretto 00:05:59 Quartetto Italiano
11 IV. Presto 00:04:51 Quartetto Italiano
Disc: 3
String Quartet No. 2 in F Major, Op. 41 No. 200:21:00
1 I. Allegro vivace 00:06:05 Quartetto Italiano
2 II. Andante, quasi variazioni 00:08:13 Quartetto Italiano
3 III. Scherzo: Presto 00:03:04 Quartetto Italiano
4 IV. Allegro molto vivace 00:04:10 Quartetto Italiano
String Quartet in G Major, Op. 77 No. 1, Hob.III:800:24:00
5 I. Allegro moderato 00:05:41 Quartetto Italiano
6 II. Adagio 00:07:53 Quartetto Italiano
7 III. Menuetto: Presto 00:04:47 Quartetto Italiano
8 IV. Finale: Presto 00:03:32 Quartetto Italiano
String Quartet No. 3 in A Major, Op. 41 No. 300:30:00
9 I. Andante espressivo - Allegro molto moderato 00:05:54 Quartetto Italiano
10 II. Assai agitato - Un poco adagio - Tempo risolut 00:07:51 Quartetto Italiano
11 III. Adagio molto 00:08:17 Quartetto Italiano
12 IV. Finale: Allegro molto vivace 00:07:24 Quartetto Italiano
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Quartetto Italiano - The Complete RIAS Recordings, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Schubert: The Amadeus Quartet Recordings, Vol. 2 (Berlin, 1950-1964)
$26.99 ($29.99)
Brahms: The Complete Piano Trios
$26.99 ($29.99)
Brahms: The Complete Chamber Music for Clarinet
$17.99 ($19.99)
Schumann: Piano Trio in G Minor, Op. 17 - Fantasiestücke - Piano Trio No. 3
Temporal Variations - Music for Oboe and Piano between 1935 and 1941 AUD92539 9/25/2012 $17.99 ($19.99)
Stravinsky: Divertimento - Shostakovich: Violin Sonata AUD92576 1/31/2012 $17.99 ($19.99)
Shostakovich: Complete String Quartets AUD21411 4/26/2011 $53.99 ($59.99)
Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Piano Trios AUD92550 1/25/2011 $17.99 ($19.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Janacek: Complete String Quartets AUD92545 11/16/2010 $17.99 ($19.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Schumann: Piano Quartet - Piano Quintet AUD92574 6/29/2010 $17.99 ($19.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items