Rachmaninoff: The Bells & Symphonic Dances

Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Two large symphonic tone poems by the Russian composer Sergei Rachmaninov can be experienced on this new release from BR-KLASSIK- the four-movement symphonic poem "The Bells" ("Kolokola") op 35, based on a poem by Edgar Allan Poe, for solo voices, choir and orchestra, composed in 1913, and the three "Symphonic Dances" op 45 from 1940 – the last completed work by the composer, who died in 1943. Bells have a special importance for every Russian: their cathedrals are distinctive for the sound of pealing bells. Hearing them also left a lasting impression on Rachmaninov. The four stanzas of the poem vividly present the sounds of sleigh-bells, wedding bells, alarm bells and funeral bells, and these very different moods are masterfully conveyed in the four movements of the most monumental symphonic poem Rachmaninov ever wrote. The "Symphonic Dances" for large orchestra were written in 1940 on Long Island. The first movement contains a quotation from Rachmaninov's (unsuccessful) First Symphony; the second deals with the years between the turn of the century and the Russian Revolution; and the third connects the "Dies Irae" (representing death) with the "Hallelujah" of the Orthodox Liturgy (symbolising the Resurrection). In the last few bars that Rachmaninov ever wrote, a hopeful hymn of praise triumphs over The Last Judgment - possibly a premonition of the composer's imminent death.
Item number BRK900154
Barcode 4035719001549
Release date 2/2/2018
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Choir Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Classical Artist Markov, Alexey
Dolgov, Oleg
Pavlovskaya, Tatiana
Conductor Jansons, Mariss
Orchestra Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Disc: 1
Kolokola (The Bells), Op. 3500:36:00
1 The Bells, Op. 35: I. Allegro, ma non tanto 00:06:40 Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks Dolgov, Oleg Jansons, Mariss
2 The Bells, Op. 35: II. Lento 00:11:01 Jansons, Mariss Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks Pavlovskaya, Tatiana Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks
3 The Bells, Op. 35: III. Presto 00:10:11 Jansons, Mariss Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks
4 The Bells, Op. 35: IV. Lento lugubre 00:11:15 Jansons, Mariss Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks Markov, Alexey
Symphonic Dances, Op. 4500:29:00
5 Symphonic Dances, Op. 45: I. Non allegro 00:11:09 Jansons, Mariss Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
6 Symphonic Dances, Op. 45: II. Andante con moto (Te 00:10:08 Jansons, Mariss Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
7 Symphonic Dances, Op. 45: III. Lento assai 00:13:45 Jansons, Mariss Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Rachmaninoff: The Bells & Symphonic Dances, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Beethoven: Mass in C Major & Leonore Overture No. 3 (Live)
$29.69 ($32.99)
Portrait (Live)
$15.29 ($16.99)
Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 (Live)
$15.29 ($16.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 9 in D Major
Gloria: Highlights of Sacred Choral Music BRK900518 2/17/2017 $15.29 ($16.99)
R. Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie & Tod und Verklärung (Live) 900148 1/6/2017 $15.29 ($16.99)
Rhapsody (Live) 900146 8/12/2016 $15.29 ($16.99)
Tchaikovsky: Pique dame, Op. 68 (Live) 900129 10/9/2015 $35.99 ($39.99)
Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14 - Varèse: Ionisation 900121 3/25/2014 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items