Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 1

Buy + Add To Wish List + $16.19 ($17.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Marking their latest collaboration with their conductor laureate Vladimir Ashkenazy, the Philharmonia return to disc with a stellar live-performance of Rachmaninov’s volcanic Symphony No.1 in D Minor. Composed when Rachmaninov was just 22, the work has a famously tumultuous performance history. The work’s premiere in 1897 – conducted by Glazunov – was a disaster, generating vitriolic abuse from critics and reviewers of the day. Rachmaninov destroyed the score and refused the works publication during his lifetime; it was not heard again until its reconstruction from solo parts by Soviet Musicologists for a concert in 1945. This is the first release in a new series of Rachmaninov’s symphonies, conducted by Vladimir Ashkenazy in live performances with the Philharmonia Orchestra.
Item number SIGCD484
Barcode 635212048429
Release date 10/6/2017
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Ashkenazy, Vladimir
Orchestra Philharmonia Orchestra
Disc: 1
Symphony No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 1300:40:00
1 I. Grave - Allegro ma non troppo 00:12:39 Ashkenazy, Vladimir Philharmonia Orchestra
2 II. Allegro animato 00:08:57 Ashkenazy, Vladimir Philharmonia Orchestra
3 III. Larghetto 00:09:24 Ashkenazy, Vladimir Philharmonia Orchestra
4 IV. Allegro con fuoco 00:12:20 Ashkenazy, Vladimir Philharmonia Orchestra
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 1, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$16.19 ($17.99)
Borodin: Requiem - Polovtsian Dances and Suite from Prince Igor
$16.19 ($17.99)
Debussy: Engulfed Cathedral
$16.19 ($17.99)
Debussy: Evening in Granada
$16.19 ($17.99)
Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 3 - Symphonic Dances
Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 2 SIGCD530 4/6/2018 $16.19 ($17.99)
Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 1-9 SIGCD363 4/21/2017 $85.49 ($94.99)
Schubert: Symphony No. 9 SIGCD461 6/10/2016 $16.19 ($17.99)
Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 7-9 SIGCD362 7/10/2015 $35.09 ($38.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 1-3 SIGCD360 11/19/2013 $35.09 ($38.99)
Shostakovich, D.: Festive Overture / Symphony No. 5 SIGCD135 1/1/2008 $16.19 ($17.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items