Ralph Vaughan Williams: Viola Fantasia

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
On this new release Martin Outram (Viola) and Julian Rolton (piano) play all of the works of Ralph Vaughan Williams for viola and piano. Mark Padmore (tenor) joins them to record Four Hymns for Tenor, Viola and Piano. Ralph Vaughan Williams learned the piano and violin from an early age, but took to the viola while still at school and continued to play it all his life; this instrument is associated with his most romantic and impassioned music. His contemporary, the great viola virtuoso Lionel Tertis, was the inspiration for two of the works presented here. The Suite for Viola and Small Orchestra was premiered by Tertis in 1934, soon followed by a viola and piano edition. The eight movements of this lively work mainly represent dances. The short but lovely Romance is thought to have been written for Lionel Tertis at approximately the time of the First World War. It was apparently never performed and was found after the composer’s death. The Six Studies in English Folk Song, dedicated in 1926 to the cellist May Mukle, were produced in alternative versions for cello, viola, violin and clarinet, all with piano. Folk songs were important to Vaughan Williams, who collected many of them, and this work is based on six of them. This work in turn led on to a Fantasia on Sussex Folk Tunes for cello and orchestra, dedicated in 1929 to Pablo Casalls. John Lenehan published a piano reduction of the piano part and Martin Outram has adapted the cello solo part for the viola. The Fantasia on Greensleeves derives from VW’s 1928 opera, Sir John in Love. Based on a well-known tune, possibly of the Tudor period, at incorporates another folk song, Lovely Joan. The Four Hymns for Tenor, Viola and Piano date from just before the first works war. Based on texts dating from the 17th to the 20th century, they are weighty in mood and rise to feelings of religious ecstasy.
Item number ALBCD036
Barcode 5060158190362
Release date 5/17/2019
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Padmore, Mark
Rolton, Julian
Outram, Martin
Disc: 1
Suite for Viola (version for viola and piano)00:25:00
1 Group 1: Prelude 00:02:43 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
2 Group 1: Carol 00:02:15 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
3 Group 1: Christmas Dance 00:02:06 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
4 Group 2: Ballad 00:06:03 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
5 Group 2: Moto perpetuo 00:03:29 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
6 Group 3: Musette 00:03:09 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
7 Group 3: Polka melancholique 00:02:57 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
8 Group 3: Galop 00:02:00 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
Romance for Viola and Piano00:06:00
9 Romance for Viola and Piano 00:06:29 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
6 Studies in English Folksong (Version for Viola &00:08:00
10 No. 1. Lovely on the Water 00:01:31 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
11 No. 2. Spurn Point 00:01:13 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
12 No. 3. Van Diemen's Land 00:01:12 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
13 No. 4. She Borrowed Some of Her Mother's Gold 00:01:13 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
14 No. 5. The Lady and the Dragoon 00:01:21 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
15 No. 6. As I Walked Over London Bridge 00:00:55 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
Fantasia on Greensleeves (arr. W. Forbes for viola00:05:00
16 Fantasia on Greensleeves (arr. W. Forbes for viola 00:04:39 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
Fantasia on Sussex Folk Tunes (arr. J. Lenehan and00:11:00
17 Fantasia on Sussex Folk Tunes (arr. J. Lenehan and 00:10:34 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian
4 Hymns00:13:00
18 No. 1. Lord! Come Away 00:03:36 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian Padmore, Mark
19 No. 2. Who Is This Fair One? 00:03:47 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian Padmore, Mark
20 No. 3. Come Love, Come Lord 00:03:12 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian Padmore, Mark
21 No. 4. Evening Hymn 00:03:26 Outram, Martin Rolton, Julian Padmore, Mark
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Ralph Vaughan Williams: Viola Fantasia, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$16.19 ($17.99)
In Damascus
$17.09 ($18.99)
The Stanford Legacy
$17.09 ($18.99)
$17.09 ($18.99)
The Scottish Viola (A Tribute to Watson Forbes)
English Viola Sonatas 8572208 3/30/2010 $8.99 ($9.99)
Jenkins, J.: Fantasia-Suites 141 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Haydn, J.: Piano Trios (Complete) 161 10/28/2008 $31.49 ($34.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Trumpet and Organ by Iveta Apkalna & Reinhold Friedrich 143 10/28/2008 $15.29 ($16.99)
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS: On Wenlock Edge / Piano Quintet / Romance and Pastorale CHAN 10465 4/29/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
BAX: Viola Sonata / Concert Piece / Legend / Trio in 1 Movement 8557784 12/12/2006 $8.99 ($9.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items