Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé - Hovhaness: Meditation on Orpheus

Buy + Add To Wish List + $8.99 ($9.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Sergey Dyagilev commissioned Ravel to write music for the ballet Daphnis et Chloé with choreography
by Michel Fokine: Daphnis was danced by Nijinsky. This ‘choreographic symphony’, in Ravel’s words, is a
pastoral romance that drew from the composer a succession of beguiling scenes paying tribute as much to
the France of the late eighteenth century as to any Greek setting. The score is masterly, ranging from the
luminous to a Bacchanale, in a musical fresco of unrivalled beauty. Alan Hovhaness’s Meditation on Orpheus
evokes the mystery and charged energy of ancient Greece.
Item number 8571211
Barcode 747313121175
Release date 7/31/2012
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Schwarz, Gerard
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé - Hovhaness: Meditation on Orpheus, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
Rimsky-Korsakov: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3
$8.99 ($9.99)
Strauss: Ein Heldenleben - Sextet from Capriccio
$10.79 ($11.99)
Strauss: Also sprach Zarathustra - Four Symphonic Interludes from Intermezzo
$8.99 ($9.99)
Strauss: Symphonia domestica - Die Liebe der Danae: Symphonic Fragment
Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier: Orchestral Suite and Waltz Sequences 8571217 9/25/2012 $10.79 ($11.99)
Schumann: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2 8571212 8/28/2012 $8.99 ($9.99)
Schumann: Symphonies Nos. 3 and 4 8571213 8/28/2012 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 2, "Lobgesang" 8571209 7/31/2012 $8.99 ($9.99)
Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet Suites Nos. 1 and 2 - Pushkin Waltz No. 2 8571210 7/31/2012 $10.79 ($11.99)
Copland: Appalachian Spring Suite - Symphonic Ode - Creston: Symphony No. 3, 'Three Mysteries' 8571203 5/29/2012 $8.99 ($9.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items