Reich: Eight Lines - City Life - Vermont Counterpoint - Music for Two or More Pianos

Buy + Add To Wish List + $10.79 ($11.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Steve Reich is universally acknowledged as one of the foremost exponents of minimalism, arguably the most significant stylistic trend in late 20th-century music. This chronological survey shows how Reich’s innate curiosity has taken his work far beyond such musical boundaries. One of the first fruits of Reich’s creative quest is ‘Music for Two of More Pianos,’ in which the influence of Morton Feldman and jazz pianist Bill Evans can be heard. The rhythmic and flamboyant ‘Eight Lines’ comes from the true heyday of minimalism, while ‘Vermont’ and ‘New York Counterpoint’ both explore webs of phased patterns created by multi-tracked instruments. ‘City Life’ is a dramatic set of impressions of New York, vividly weaving sampled speech and street sounds into a work with symphonic depth of range and expression.
Item number 8559682
Barcode 636943968222
Release date 12/4/2020
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Simon, Klaus
Orchestra Holst Sinfonietta
Disc: 1
Music for 2 or More Pianos00:10:56
1 Music for 2 or More Pianos 00:10:57 Simon, Klaus Schweinbenz, Jörg
Eight Lines00:16:00
2 Eight Lines 00:17:12 Simon, Klaus Holst Sinfonietta
Vermont Counterpoint00:09:00
3 Vermont Counterpoint 00:09:33 Parisot, Anne Parisot, Anne Parisot, Anne Roche, Delphine Roche, Delphine
New York Counterpoint00:05:00
4 I. quarter note = ca. 184 00:04:56 Nagy, Andrea Nagy, Andrea
5 II. quarter note = ca. 92 00:02:40 Nagy, Andrea Nagy, Andrea
6 III. quarter note = ca. 184 00:03:31 Nagy, Andrea Nagy, Andrea
City Life00:25:00
7 I. Check it out 00:06:07 Simon, Klaus Holst Sinfonietta
8 II. Pile driver/alarms 00:04:03 Simon, Klaus Holst Sinfonietta
9 III. It's been a honeymoon - can't take no mo' 00:05:09 Simon, Klaus Holst Sinfonietta
10 IV. Heartbeats/boats and buoys 00:03:57 Simon, Klaus Holst Sinfonietta
11 V. Heavy smoke 00:04:56 Simon, Klaus Holst Sinfonietta
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Reich: Eight Lines - City Life - Vermont Counterpoint - Music for Two or More Pianos, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
JOPLIN: Piano Rags, Vol. 1
$2.69 ($2.99)
$11.69 ($12.99)
HANSON: Piano Sonata / Poemes erotiques / For the First Time
$10.79 ($11.99)
LAMBERT Sr. / LAMBERT Jr: Ouverture de Broceliande / Bresiliana / L'Amazone
MACDOWELL: First Modern Suite / 6 Idyls / Sonata No. 3 8559011 10/1/1999 $11.69 ($12.99)
SIEGMEISTER: Piano Music, Vol. 2 8559021 8/1/1999 $11.69 ($12.99)
Cage: Sonatas and Interludes for Prepared Piano 8559042 8/1/1999 $10.79 ($11.99)
SIEGMEISTER: Piano Music, Vol. 1 8559020 7/1/1999 $11.69 ($12.99)
MACDOWELL: Piano Sonata No. 4 / 6 Poems / 12 Virtuoso Studies 8559019 6/1/1999 $10.79 ($11.99)
GRIFFES: Piano Works, Vol. 1 8559023 1/1/1999 $10.79 ($11.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items