Reznicek: Symphonische Suite No. 1, Traumspiel Suite & Karneval Suite

Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Our comprehensive and successful Reznicek edition now presents three very different works – the Symphonic Suite No. 1 (1882), Dream Play Suite (1915 / 21), and Carnival Suite (1932) – which the composer nonetheless assigned to the suite genre. Taken together, they document his compositional and stylistic development over the decades. Moreover, they are performed by an orchestra that Reznicek himself once had conducted for a short time: the Weimar State Orchestra. His Symphonic Suite is more like a three-movement symphony for full orchestra. It is clearly audible that here Reznicek is not concerned with motivic work and thematic fission but with the contrast of moods. The harmony and the instrumentation leave little doubt about its source of inspiration in Wagner. The suite from the incidental music to Strindberg’s Dream Play is a series of short, atmospherically dense musical pictures, and in terms of its compositional history the Carnival Suite is a symphonic intermezzo dividing the opera Gondoliere des Dogen into two parts. In the manner of a Baroque suite, it consists of seven parts: March – Introduction – Pierrot and Columbine – Gigue – Furlana – Passepied – Aria – Gypsy March. The relation of the suite to the rest of the opera music results from the circumstance that here too the rhythm of the Furlana (dance from the Friuli region) is omnipresent.
Item number 555056-2
Barcode 761203505623
Release date 3/15/2019
Category Orchestral
Label CPO
Number of units 1
Conductor Solyom, Stefan
Orchestra Staatskapelle Weimar
Disc: 1
Suite im alten Stil, "Karneval"00:13:00
1 Suite im alten Stil "Karneval": I. Feierlicher Mar 00:00:51 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
2 Suite im alten Stil "Karneval": II. Introduktion 00:02:09 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
3 Suite im alten Stil "Karneval": III. Gigue 00:00:56 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
4 Suite im alten Stil "Karneval": IV. Furlana 00:03:10 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
5 Suite im alten Stil "Karneval": V. Passepied 00:00:39 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
6 Suite im alten Stil "Karneval": VI. Arie 00:05:24 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
7 Suite im alten Stil "Karneval": VII. Zigeunermusik 00:00:56 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
Traumspiel Suite00:26:27
8 Traumspiel Suite: I. Heiterbucht und Schmachsund 00:03:15 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
9 Traumspiel Suite: II. Herbst und Frühling 00:05:53 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
10 Traumspiel Suite: III. In der Fingalshöhle 00:03:18 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
11 Traumspiel Suite: IV. Wind und Wellen-Walzer 00:06:51 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
12 Traumspiel Suite: V. Der Advokat 00:03:32 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
13 Traumspiel Suite: VI. Der Tochter Abschied 00:03:38 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
Symphonische Suite No. 1 in E Minor00:28:20
14 Symphonische Suite No. 1 in E Minor: I. Ouvertüre 00:08:38 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
15 Symphonische Suite No. 1 in E Minor: II. Adagio 00:09:57 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
16 Symphonische Suite No. 1 in E Minor: III. Scherzo 00:09:45 Solyom, Stefan Staatskapelle Weimar
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Reznicek: Symphonische Suite No. 1, Traumspiel Suite & Karneval Suite, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Enna: Symphony No. 2 - Hans Christian Andersen festouverture - Marchen
$15.29 ($16.99)
Beck: Symphonies, Op. 4 Nos. 1-3
$30.59 ($33.99)
Pepping: Symphonies Nos. 1-3 & Piano Concerto
$15.29 ($16.99)
RATHAUS: Symphonies Nos. 2 and 3
Antheil: Symphony No. 3 "American" & Other Works for Orchestra 777040-2 11/16/2004 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Beck: Symphonies, Op. 3 & Overture to La mort d'Orphée 777034-2 8/1/2004 $15.29 ($16.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Vivaldi: Four Seasons (The) (Dresden Version With Winds) / Guido: Scherzi Armonici, Op. 3 777037-2 5/1/2004 $15.29 ($16.99)
Suk: Asrael, Op. 27 777001-2 4/1/2004 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Symphonies Concertantes 777009-2 4/1/2004 $24.29 ($26.99)
SHERWOOD, G.: Symphony No. 1 / Piano Concerto / Sinfonietta 777012-2 3/1/2004 $15.29 ($16.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items