Rhené-Baton: Chamber Music for Piano and Strings

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Although now largely forgotten, Rhene-Emmanuel Bâton (1879-1940) was a key figure in Parisian musical circles during the early 1900s. Rhene-Baton, as he was later known, was born in Normandy to a Breton family. but trained at the Paris Conservatoire to become a composer, pianist and conductor. A meeting with Serge Diaghilev led to the engagement to conduct the Ballets russes on tour, and as a conductor he was the subject dedicatee of several works such as Roussel’s Second Symphony. Meanwhile Rhene-Baton continued to compose, and it was through his own music that he felt most free to express his Breton identity. Almost all the chamber music presented here dates from the years 1921-27. Both the Cello Sonata and Violin Sonata call for piano playing of great virtuosity, probably because Rhene-Baton intended those parts for himself, while the melody line unfolds in a mode of archaic, neoclassical lyricism. The peak of his achievement in the chamber-music genre, however, is the A minor Piano Trio, composed in 1923. The second movement is a ‘Divertissement sur un vieil air Breton’ – the ‘vieil air’ in question being Gwin ar c’hallaoued’ (the wine of Gall), one of the best-known Breton tunes. The Suite Ancienne (1933) is different in character: a collection of dances like a Baroque suite (Prelude, Aria, Gavotte, Gigue). The more intimate mood of this chamber repertoire evokes a series of everyday musical scenes: interiors, winter hearths, summer festivities and ancient celebrations in which Rhene-Baton is both narrator and participant. Founded in 2009, the Wolferl Trio comprises three Italian musicians all with distinguished careers as performers and teachers in their own right.
Item number BRI95554
Barcode 5028421955544
Release date 7/5/2019
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 2
Classical Artist Micucci, Leonardo
Disc: 1
Violin Sonata No. 1, Op. 2400:24:00
1 I. Allegro non troppo – Allegro vivo assai 00:08:25 Micucci, Leonardo Basanisi, Francesco
2 II. Larghetto 00:07:33 Micucci, Leonardo Basanisi, Francesco
3 III. Allegro vivo 00:08:11 Micucci, Leonardo Basanisi, Francesco
Violin Sonata No. 2, Op. 4600:17:00
4 Violin Sonata No. 2, Op. 46: I. Allegro comodo 00:17:11 Micucci, Leonardo Basanisi, Francesco
Suite ancienne, Op. 5500:12:00
5 I. Prélude 00:03:07 Micucci, Leonardo Basanisi, Francesco
6 II. Aria 00:04:24 Micucci, Leonardo Basanisi, Francesco
7 III. Gavotte 00:02:10 Micucci, Leonardo Basanisi, Francesco
8 IV. Gigue 00:02:33 Micucci, Leonardo Basanisi, Francesco
Cello Sonata in C Major, Op. 2800:18:00
9 I. Andante tranquillo – Allegro vivo e agitato 00:07:03 Basanisi, Francesco Mansueto, Roberto
10 II. Andante un poco maestoso 00:05:37 Basanisi, Francesco Mansueto, Roberto
11 III. Allegro vivo – Largo e maestoso 00:07:12 Basanisi, Francesco Mansueto, Roberto
Piano Trio, Op. 3100:24:00
12 I. Lento - Allegro 00:10:16 Wolferl Trio
13 II. Divertissement sur un vieil air breton (Allegr 00:04:18 Wolferl Trio
14 III. Andante - Allegro vivace e agitato 00:09:42 Wolferl Trio
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Rhené-Baton: Chamber Music for Piano and Strings, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$7.19 ($7.99)
Bartók: Complete Works for Violin, Vol. 3
$7.19 ($7.99)
Bassoon Kaleidoscope
$7.19 ($7.99)
Rebay: Quartets for Guitar, Flute & Strings
$10.79 ($11.99)
Bartók: Complete Works for Violin, Vol. 1
Organ & Piano Duets BRI9213 7/26/2011 $10.79 ($11.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Enescu: Violin Sonatas BRI9165 10/1/2010 $7.19 ($7.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Cello Rhapsody BRI9157 5/1/2010 $10.79 ($11.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Roslavets: Chamber Music BRI9174 4/1/2010 $7.19 ($7.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Bach: Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 BRI9184 4/1/2010 $7.19 ($7.99)
Villa-Lobos: Violin Sonatas Complete BRI9051 9/1/2008 $7.19 ($7.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items