Richard Faith: Neo-Romantic Music for Mixed Chamber Ensemble

Buy + Add To Wish List + $14.39 ($15.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The neo-romantic music of Richard Faith demonstrates compositional skill, craftsmanship, and moments that transcend sentiment, yet it is clearly human and at certain points “unavoidably sentimental.” Perhaps Faith’s ability to strike a balance between these two poles of expression is what many performers and audiences have found to be so alluring about his music. Scholar Walter Simmons has described American neo-romantic composers as “voices in the wilderness.” Throughout Faith’s career there was pressure to write music that perhaps distanced him from the academic establishment. Yet he has persisted and continues to hold to his unique voice at age 90. His latest compositions, Divertimento and Quintet, were written for the Woodsmusick Ensemble. A family of professional musicians, the Woodsmusick Ensemble has unofficially been performing together for more than 25 years, but they have been under their current moniker and instrumentation since 2012. The group’s inception in its present iteration stems from the opportunity to premier a new work written for them by composer Richard Faith. The first performance of Divertimento inspired an ongoing collaboration. In spite of its members’ wide-ranging and diverse individual performing and academic careers, Woodsmusick reunites often to perform and record. The Woodsmusick Ensemble is composed of Alexander Woods, Aubrey Woods, Garrick Woods, Rex Woods, and Christian Smith.
Item number TCD0117AWF
Barcode 714861018127
Release date 5/19/2017
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Ensemble Woodsmusick Ensemble
Disc: 1
1 Divertimento: I. Larghetto 00:03:44 Woodsmusick Ensemble
2 Divertimento: II. Vivace 00:01:16 Woodsmusick Ensemble
3 Divertimento: III. Andante espressivo 00:03:22 Woodsmusick Ensemble
4 Divertimento: IV. Allegretto 00:00:44 Woodsmusick Ensemble
5 Divertimento: V. Andante 00:04:18 Woodsmusick Ensemble
6 Divertimento: VI. Allegro con fuoco 00:02:11 Woodsmusick Ensemble
7 Trio: I. Moderato espressivo 00:03:37 Woodsmusick Ensemble
8 Trio: II. Andante espressivo 00:08:22 Woodsmusick Ensemble
9 Trio: III. Allegro scherzando 00:02:33 Woodsmusick Ensemble
10 Trio: IV. Presto 00:07:02 Woodsmusick Ensemble
11 Quintet: I. Largo espressivo 00:02:23 Woodsmusick Ensemble
12 Quintet: II. Allegro giusto 00:05:32 Woodsmusick Ensemble
13 Quintet: III. Andante "Gettysburg" 00:02:20 Woodsmusick Ensemble
14 Quintet: IV. Moderato 00:05:19 Woodsmusick Ensemble
15 Quintet: V. Allegro risoluto. Jauntily 00:03:14 Woodsmusick Ensemble
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Richard Faith: Neo-Romantic Music for Mixed Chamber Ensemble, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$14.39 ($15.99)
Up and Away
$15.29 ($16.99)
Jenkins, J.: Fantasia-Suites
$31.49 ($34.99)
Haydn, J.: Piano Trios (Complete)
$15.29 ($16.99)
Trumpet and Organ by Iveta Apkalna & Reinhold Friedrich
Schoenberg, A.: String Quartet No. 2 / Webern, A.: Langsamer Satz / Berg, A.: Lyrische Suite (Excerpt) 133 9/30/2008 $15.29 ($16.99)
Beethoven, L.: Piano Trios (Complete) 122 8/26/2008 $22.49 ($24.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Playing Tribute: A Nod to the Paris & The Hollywood Saxophone Quartets TCD0205USQ 4/18/2005 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Suk: Chamber Works, Vol. 3 111533-2 1/1/1993 $7.19 ($7.99)
Out of stock
Suk: Chamber Works, Vol. 2 111532-2 1/1/1993 $13.49 ($14.99)
Out of stock
Suk: String Quartets Nos 1 and 2, Tempo di minuetto, Meditation 111531-2 1/1/1993 $13.49 ($14.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items