Richard Strauss: Enoch Arden

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
On his final recording, the great actor Bruno Ganz narrates Tennyson’s poem, Enoch Arden, with its echoes of the everlasting stories of Odysseus and Robinson Crusoe. In a unique synthesis of words and music, Tennyson’s verse is further deepened by R. Strauss’ flamboyant musical depiction, played here by pianist Kirill Gerstein. Bruno Ganz; 22 March 1941 – 16 February 2019) was a Swiss actor whose career in German television and film productions spanned nearly 60 years. He was known for his collaborations with the directors Werner Herzog, Éric Rohmer, Francis Ford Coppola, and Wim Wenders, earning widespread recognition with his roles as Jonathan Zimmerman in The American Friend (1977), Jonathan Harker in Nosferatu the Vampyre (1979) and Damiel the Angel in Wings of Desire (1987).
Item number MYR025
Barcode 4260183510253
Release date 4/17/2020
Category Vocal
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Ganz, Bruno
Gerstein, Kirill
Disc: 1
Enoch Arden, Op. 38, TrV 18100:53:00
1 Part I: Prelude - In langen Klippenreih'n 00:07:31 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
2 Part I: So wurden jene Zwei vermählt - Langsam 00:07:09 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
3 Part I: Allegro appassionato: Sie lieh am Tag, den 00:05:52 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
4 Part I: Zur Schule sandte Philipp darauf die Klein 00:02:00 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
5 Part I: Ins Holz zum Nüssepflücken wollten einst - 00:06:22 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
6 Part I: Annie's dream: Langsam 00:03:52 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
7 Part II: Prelude: Allegro moderato - Und wo war En 00:03:40 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
8 Part II: Andante: Doch jeden Tag des Sonnenaufgang 00:02:57 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
9 Part II: So über Enochs früh ergrauend Haupt 00:06:07 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
10 Part II: Allegro agitato: Als jetzt der auferstand 00:04:12 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
11 Part II: Diese Müllersfrau, von der Ihr spracht 00:02:40 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
12 Part II: Langsam: Frau, stört mich nicht so nah an 00:03:57 Ganz, Bruno Gerstein, Kirill
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Richard Strauss: Enoch Arden, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Busoni: Piano Concerto in C Major, Op. 39, BV 247 (Live)
The Gershwin Moment: Rhapsody in Blue & Piano Concerto in F Major (Live)
Liszt: Transcendental Études, S. 139
Tchaikovsky & Prokofiev: Piano Concertos
Imaginary Pictures MYR013 2/6/2014 $19.99
An die Geliebte MYR012 5/15/2010 $19.99
Schumann, C.: Vocal Music 170 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Haydn, J.: Soprano Cantatas - Berenice, Che Fai / Miseri Noi / Violin Concerto No. 4 / Symphony No. 92 176 1/27/2009 $10.79 ($11.99)
Handel, G.F.: Silete Venti / Hasse, J.A.: La Gelosia / Bach, J.S.: Non Sa Che Sia Dolore 171 1/27/2009 $10.79 ($11.99)
Schumann, Knussen & Liszt: Piano Works MYR005 11/14/2006 $18.99
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items