Sauguet: Les trois quatuors

Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99) - Out of stock

There are two ways of looking at the string quartet: one is serious, the other not frivolous but ingenuous. The first proclaims, with Vincent d’Indy, that it ‘must, to have real artistic significance, be a work of maturity’; examples in support of this include Franck’s and Faure’s quartets, and the late Beethoven’s. The second replies with the Ravel quartet, and Mozart’s ‘Milanese’ quartets or, quite simply, Beethoven’s first, which were only meant to be music with no pretense. Sauguet is currently confined to a sort of purgatory, but his chamber music has always been ill-known, in spite of the treasures in his oeuvre. He came back to the quartet genre three times at three different ages- 26, in the blossoming of writing talent, at 47 in a deepened maturity, and at 78, in a dusk when every hour marvels at nocturnal glimmers. Each of these works is included on this release from the French ensemble Quatuor Stanislas.
Item number 1C1244
Barcode 3377891312442
Release date 1/1/2025
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Ensemble Stanislas Quartet
Disc: 1
String Quartet No. 100:24:00
1 String Quartet No. 1: I. Allegretto 00:04:54 Stanislas Quartet
2 String Quartet No. 1: II. Scherzo. Mosso - Meno mo 00:06:04 Stanislas Quartet
3 String Quartet No. 1: III. Adagio 00:07:01 Stanislas Quartet
4 String Quartet No. 1: IV. Finale. Quasi allegro - 00:06:47 Stanislas Quartet
String Quartet No. 200:26:00
5 String Quartet No. 2: I. Andantino capriccioso 00:05:53 Stanislas Quartet
6 String Quartet No. 2: II. Lento molto espressivo 00:06:14 Stanislas Quartet
7 String Quartet No. 2: III. Tempo di valse 00:06:09 Stanislas Quartet
8 String Quartet No. 2: IV. Andante espressivo - All 00:08:47 Stanislas Quartet
String Quartet No. 300:24:00
9 String Quartet No. 3: I. Quasi lento 00:07:45 Stanislas Quartet
10 String Quartet No. 3: II. Larghetto 00:07:37 Stanislas Quartet
11 String Quartet No. 3: III. Allegro ritmico 00:09:38 Stanislas Quartet
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Sauguet: Les trois quatuors, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Thirion: Chamber Works
$17.09 ($18.99)
Cartan: La musique de chambre
$17.09 ($18.99)
Schmitt, F.: Piano Quintet, Op. 51 / Hasards
$17.09 ($18.99)
Ropartz, J.-G.: Quartets, Vol. 3 - String Quartet No. 1 / Fantaisie Breve
INDY, V. d': Suite dans le style ancien / Chansons et danses / Piano Quintet, Op. 81 / Suite, Op. 91 (Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra Soloists) 1C1119 11/8/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
Ropartz, J.-G.: Piano Trio in A Minor / String Trio in A Major / Prelude, Marine and Chansons 1C1118 3/22/2007 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Ropartz, J.-G.: String Quartets Nos. 4-6 1C1115 11/16/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)
Out of stock
Ropartz, J.-G.: String Quartets Nos. 2 and 3 1C1099 3/30/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)
Out of stock
Dupont, G.: Maison Dans Les Dunes (La) / Poeme 1C1072 5/26/2003 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Berg, A.: Lyric Suite / Dutilleux, H.: Ainsi La Nuit / Webern, A.: Langsamer Satz 1C1005 1/1/1991 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items