Schubert: The Symphonies

Buy + Add To Wish List + $26.99 ($29.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This release celebrates the partnership of the distinguished conductor Nikolaus Harnoncourt (1929-2016) directing the Chamber Orchestra of Europe (COE) in a memorable cycle of the complete Schubert Symphonies at the Styriarte Festival in Graz, Austria during July 1988. Harnoncourt was a notable and perhaps controversial Schubertian who, with his favorite orchestra, set about examining everything afresh. The players he worked with in 1988 talk about the way he changed their perceptions, of discovering Schubert’s work for themselves, ignoring the accretions of previous performance tradition. Harnoncourt wanted Schubert’s music to be on the edge, to rebuild it, testing and evaluating the contribution of each instrument and for the players to take as many risks as they wanted. Dane Roberts, the COE’s double bass player, recounted: ‘Harnoncourt’s strong roots in both Vienna and Graz influenced and enabled his musical insights and vision. He presented to us dimensions of these masterpieces we had not considered or did not know (or at least recognize)’. Sally Pendlebury, cello, recalled: ‘The Schubert Symphonies was my first ever project with Nikolaus Harnoncourt. To say it completely changed my musical life would in no way be an overstatement’.
Item number ICAC5160
Barcode 5060244551602
Release date 11/6/2020
Category Orchestral
Number of units 4
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Schubert: The Symphonies, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night's Dream - Beethoven: Symphony No. 8
$22.49 ($24.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 3
$15.29 ($16.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10
$15.29 ($16.99)
Beethoven: Symphony No. 9
Brahms: Symphony No. 1 - Elgar: Enigma Variations ICAC 5019 5/31/2011 $15.29 ($16.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 3 - Debussy: La mer ICAC 5021 5/31/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Out of stock
Brahms: Symphony No. 3 - Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 ICAC 5023 5/31/2011 $15.29 ($16.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 2, "Resurrection" ICAC 5001 2/22/2011 $15.29 ($16.99)
Bruckner: Symphony No. 3 ICAC 5005 2/22/2011 $15.29 ($16.99)
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 1, "Winter Dreams" - Stravinsky: The Firebird Suite (1945 verson) ICAC 5007 2/22/2011 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items