Sensations of Travel

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.99 ($19.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This third release from Hebrides Ensemble’s acclaimed recording partnership with Delphian pays tribute to the remarkable musical and human achievements of Edinburgh-based composer Nigel Osborne with a collection of solo and ensemble works. Adagio for Vedran Smailovic – performed here by the Ensemble’s director, cellist William Conway – was written in Sarajevo in the winter of 1992–3; Osborne visited the city several times during the Bosnian war, a period recalled in the 2001 Hebrides Ensemble commission Balkan Dances and Laments. In Sarajevo and Mostar, Osborne developed a practice of music therapy for children that he has subsequently taken to warzones in Africa and the Middle East. Music’s ability to cross boundaries – to bridge nations and continents, to bear witness and to heal – lies at the heart of this album, on which Hebrides Ensemble’s eloquent advocacy is supplemented by soundscapes and sung interludes featuring the voice of the composer himself.
Item number DCD34198
Barcode 801918341984
Release date 2/8/2019
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Ensemble Hebrides Ensemble
Disc: 1
The Piano Tuner (version with soundscapes)00:14:00
1 The Piano Tuner (Version with Soundscapes): I. Pre 00:02:43 Hebrides Ensemble
2 The Piano Tuner (Version with Soundscapes): II. Fu 00:01:28 Hebrides Ensemble
3 The Piano Tuner (Version with Soundscapes): III. P 00:01:31 Sabri, Sarvar Hebrides Ensemble
4 The Piano Tuner (Version with Soundscapes): IV. Fu 00:00:55 Sabri, Sarvar Hebrides Ensemble
5 The Piano Tuner (Version with Soundscapes): V. Fug 00:01:05 Sabri, Sarvar Hebrides Ensemble
6 The Piano Tuner (Version with Soundscapes): VI. Fu 00:02:02 Sabri, Sarvar Hebrides Ensemble
7 The Piano Tuner (Version with Soundscapes): VII. P 00:03:06 Sabri, Sarvar Hebrides Ensemble
8 The Piano Tuner (Version with Soundscapes): VIII. 00:03:17 Osborne, Nigel Osborne, Nigel Hebrides Ensemble
9 Espionage: I. Et in Arcadia Ego "Broken Memories / 00:04:05 Beyers, Zoë
10 Espionage: II. The Triumph of the Poet "Shakespear 00:01:30 Beyers, Zoë
11 Espionage: III. A Dance to the Music of Time "The 00:04:35 Beyers, Zoë
Balkan Dances and Laments00:15:00
12 Balkan Dances & Laments 00:15:08 Hebrides Ensemble
Ecological Studies00:07:00
13 Ecological Studies: I. White Bird 00:01:07 Moore, Philip
14 Ecological Studies: II. Kuda Kepang - Mudskipper M 00:01:13 Moore, Philip
15 Ecological Studies: III. Osbornia - Makyung 00:00:53 Moore, Philip
16 Ecological Studies: IV. Egret - Kingfisher - Sandp 00:03:54 Moore, Philip
17 Zone 00:09:21 Hebrides Ensemble
My beloved, where are you going - Adagio for Vedra00:05:00
18 My Beloved, Where Are You Going - Adagio for Vedra 00:04:52 Osborne, Nigel Osborne, Nigel Osborne, Nigel Hebrides Ensemble Osborne, Ruaraidh
Preludio y Canción00:08:00
19 Preludio y Canción: I. Preludio 00:02:50 Hebrides Ensemble
20 Preludio y Canción: II. Canción 00:04:42 Hebrides Ensemble
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Sensations of Travel, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.99 ($19.99)
John Bevan Baker: Songs of Courtship & Other Works
$17.99 ($19.99)
2000 Nails: Contemporary Organ Works on the McEwan Hall Organ
$17.99 ($19.99)
The Red Red Rose: Songs & Tunes from 18th Century Scotland
$17.99 ($19.99)
Couperin: La Paix du Parnasse
Byrd & Tallis: In Chains of Gold DCD34008 8/24/2003 $17.99 ($19.99)
Les plaisirs, les plus charmants DCD34011 7/1/2003 $17.99 ($19.99)
James MacMillan & Stuart Macrae: Works for Piano DCD34009 5/17/2002 $17.99 ($19.99)
Wilde Plays Chopin DCD34010 5/17/2002 $17.99 ($19.99)
Few in stock Buy +
The Kelvingrove Organ: Overture Transcriptions DCD34004 3/22/2002 $17.99 ($19.99)
Instruments from the Russell Collection, Vol. 1 DCD34001 4/17/2001 $17.99 ($19.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items