Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 15

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
These two hugely contrasting symphonies come from the opposite ends
of Shostakovich’s life and career. The Second Symphony was written to
commemorate the 10th anniversary of the Bolshevik October Revolution. Its
advanced idiom of experimental textures and abstract effects can perhaps be
best described as organised musical chaos. The Fifteenth was Shostakovich’s
last symphony and is filled with remarkable contrasts, from the rollicking
quotes from Rossini’s William Tell Overture and eerie references to Wagner’s
Götterdämmerung and Tristan und Isolde, to the last and perhaps most
imaginative of the composer’s symphonic passacaglias. Vasily Petrenko became Chief Conductor of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic
Orchestra in September 2009, and in 2013 will become Chief Conductor of the
Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra. He was the Classical BRIT Awards Male Artist of
the Year 2010 and the Classic FM/Gramophone Young Artist of the Year 2007.
In 2009 he was awarded Honorary Doctorates by the University of Liverpool and
Liverpool Hope University.
Item number 8572708
Barcode 747313270873
Release date 5/29/2012
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Petrenko, Vasily
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 15, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$10.79 ($11.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 13
$10.79 ($11.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 14
$11.69 ($12.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 4
$11.69 ($12.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 60 "Leningrad"
Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 6 & 12 8572658 10/25/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3 8572396 3/29/2011 $10.79 ($11.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10 8572461 11/16/2010 $12.59 ($13.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 8 8572392 5/25/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Shostakovich, D.: Symphonies, Vol. 2 - Symphonies Nos. 5 and 9 8572167 10/27/2009 $11.69 ($12.99)
Tchaikovsky: Manfred - The Voyevoda 8570568 10/28/2008 $8.99 ($9.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items