Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5 - 4 Romances on Poems by Pushkin

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Described as being “one of his most important utterances,” Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 was written as a response to the sinister unsigned article which appeared in Pravda, the state newspaper, in January 1936, denouncing the composer and implying the ultimate threat, during the time of Stalin’s “Great Terror.” Whilst the messages of the Symphony have been subject to a variety of often conflicting interpretations, the music and vivid orchestral writing, to which the Halle live performance fully attests, have earned it a leading place in the composer’s legacy. In coupling the Symphony with the Four Romances which immediately pre-date it, Elder sheds light on his interpretation of the meaning of the Symphony. The latter work quotes thematic material used in the first of the Pushkin settings in which faith is expressed that art can survive even the most brutal oppression and desecration, perhaps revealing an element of pride that the composer had been true to his art in the face of state threats. James Platt is one of the leading British singers of his generation who frequently appears in the major opera houses across Europe and in concert performances with leading international ensembles and conductors.
Item number HLL7550
Barcode 5065001341564
Release date 3/1/2019
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5 - 4 Romances on Poems by Pushkin, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 9
$17.09 ($18.99)
Elgar, E.: Symphony No. 1 / In the South Overture, "Alassio" / In Moonlight
$17.09 ($18.99)
Elgar, E.: Variations On an Original Theme, "Enigma" / Serenade, Op. 20 / Cockaigne, "In London Town"
$17.09 ($18.99)
Nielsen, C.: Symphony No. 5 / Flute Concerto / Entrance March From Aladdin
Butterworth, G.: Brigg Fair / A Shropshire Lad / 2 English Idylls / The Banks of Green Willow CDHLL7503 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Shostakovich, D.: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 6 CDHLL7506 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Elgar, E.: Introduction and Allegro / Symphony No. 2 CDHLL7507 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Elgar, E.: Froissart Overture / Dream Children / The Music Makers CDHLL7509 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS, R.: Wasps (The) (Elder) CDHLD7510 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Out of stock
Shostakovich, D.: Symphonies Nos. 5 and 10 CDHLD7511 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items