Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 60 "Leningrad"

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Three weeks after the Nazi invasion of the Soviet Union in June 1941, Shostakovich volunteered with the Home Guard in Leningrad. As the siege of the city intensified, he worked on his Seventh Symphony, completing three movements before being forced to leave Leningrad and travel east by train. The work was completed in December that year. Initially he gave each movement a programmatic title, but later withdrew them, leaving this epic work as an emblem of heroic defiance in the face of conflict and crisis: ‘I dedicate my Seventh Symphony to our struggle against fascism, to our coming victory over the enemy, to my native city, Leningrad.’
Item number 8573057
Barcode 747313305773
Release date 5/28/2013
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Petrenko, Vasily
Orchestra Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 60 "Leningrad", please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$89.99 ($99.99)
Shostakovich: The Complete Symphonies
$10.79 ($11.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 13
$10.79 ($11.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 14
$11.69 ($12.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 4
Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 3 8572396 3/29/2011 $10.79 ($11.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10 8572461 11/16/2010 $12.59 ($13.99)
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 8 8572392 5/25/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Shostakovich, D.: Symphonies, Vol. 2 - Symphonies Nos. 5 and 9 8572167 10/27/2009 $11.69 ($12.99)
Shostakovich, D.: Symphonies, Vol. 1 - Symphony No. 11, "The Year 1905" 8572082 3/31/2009 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Tchaikovsky: Manfred - The Voyevoda 8570568 10/28/2008 $8.99 ($9.99)

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items