Silvestri: Complete Piano Works

Buy + Add To Wish List + $20.69 ($22.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Constantin Silvestri (1913-1969) was a Romanian conductor, pianist and composer who was already playing the piano in public at the age of 10. At the age of 16, he won the George Enescu Prize, presented to him by the composer himself. Enescu, who very much admired Silvestri, is believed to have said: “We want Silvestri to be able to do everything we expect of him – and that’s a lot”. Silvestri was a very humorous man; at the same time, however, very serious and critical; a non-conformist. He was inventive, with complex interests and a difficult nature. Owing to political changes in Romania and rivalry between several colleagues, follow-up performances of “Oedipus” were abruptly cancelled, as were other concerts of his in Romania. Silvestri decided to leave his homeland and eventually settled in England. He successfully performed with many renowned orchestras, and led the rather provincial British Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra to worldwide fame. Nevertheless, in parallel with the prestige attached to being an orchestral conductor, Silvestri (a brilliant improviser) also devoted his time to playing the piano and to compositions for this very personal instrument, to which he entrusted his most secret thoughts colored by his own subjectivity. It is a great credit to the pianist Luiza Borac to be presenting here to the public the first recordings and arrangements of Silvestri’s complete piano works.
Item number PH20028
Barcode 881488200287
Release date 6/19/2020
Category Classical Music
Number of units 2
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Silvestri: Complete Piano Works, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
Chopin Edition, Vol. 9
$8.99 ($9.99)
Chopin Edition Vol. 8 - Preludes & Variations
$15.29 ($16.99)
Chopin, F.: Chopin Edition, Vol. 5 - Scherzi / Fantasy / Berceuse / Barcarolle
$15.29 ($16.99)
Chopin, F.: Chopin Edition, Vol. 4 - Etudes
Chopin, F.: Chopin Edition, Vol. 3 - Polonaises PH04069 10/30/2007 $20.69 ($22.99)
Chopin, F.: Chopin Edition, Vol. 2 - Waltzes PH04066 4/24/2007 $10.79 ($11.99)
GUITAR MUSIC PH04025 9/20/2005 $15.29 ($16.99)
HAYDN: Piano Sonatas Nos. 6, 33, 38, 60 / Un piccolo divertimento PH04060 9/20/2005 $8.99 ($9.99)
Out of stock
SPANISH DANCES PH04024 7/19/2005 $8.99 ($9.99)
KORNGOLD: Complete Piano Sonatas PH04083 7/19/2005 $10.79 ($11.99)

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Clementi: Piano Music
Buy + $10.79 ($11.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items