Smetana: Moldau - Dvorák: Symphony No. 9

Buy + Add To Wish List + $12.59 ($13.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Bedrich Smetana and Antonín Dvorák, those two Bohemians shaped by the history, traditions and nature of their beloved homeland, developed a music which, while national in spirit, also displays broader passions. Their notes conjure imposing narratives and vast landscapes, brought to vivid life by means of subtle coloration. Different as they were, the music of both men spanned the world, astonishingly free of the dictates of fashion and preserving a freshness that remains to this day. The transcriptions for piano duet (four hands) performed by the Duo Solot are from the composers themselves. It is a delight to note the quality of the pianistic writing in these arrangements, which showcase the resonant and percussive qualities of the instrument and its ability to project a mass of sound, yet also emphasise the clarity of the melodic and rhythmic discourse, precisely delineating the works’ polyphonic riches. In short, a perfect opportunity to discover these very familiar pieces with new ears…
Item number ADW7574
Barcode 5410939757428
Release date 1/8/2016
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Smetana: Moldau - Dvorák: Symphony No. 9, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$12.59 ($13.99)
Mompou: Piano Works, Vol. 1
$12.59 ($13.99)
Mozart: Complete Piano Sonatas, Vol. 2
$12.59 ($13.99)
Mozart: Complete Piano Sonatas, Vol. 3
$12.59 ($13.99)
Mozart: Sonatas, K. 332 & K. 283 - Fantasia K. 397 - Adagio K. 540 & Variations, "A la belle française" K. 353
Szymanowski: Sheherazade ADW7219 10/1/1990 $12.59 ($13.99)
Markevitch: Piano Works ADW7217 9/1/1990 $12.59 ($13.99)
Mozart: The Six Viennese Sonatinas ADW7060 9/1/1990 $12.59 ($13.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
The Forgotten Europe ADW7204 9/1/1989 $12.59 ($13.99)
Haydn: Piano Sonatas, Hob. XVI: 20, 23 & 46 ADW7206 9/1/1989 $12.59 ($13.99)
Prokofiev: Cendrillon - Sonate pour piano No. 2 - Sonatine Pastorale ADW7199 3/1/1989 $12.59 ($13.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items