Smetana: Swedish Symphonic Poems

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The symphonic poems Smetana wrote during his stay in Sweden were composed during a pivotal time in his life. Financial prospects at first seemed better in Gothenberg than in his native country, while the dual influences of Berlioz and Liszt were informing the direction of his music. Richard III is not a programmatic drama, but focuses instead on the haunting scene before the Battle of Bosworth in Shakespeare’s play. Wallenstein’s Camp is symphonically structured, while Hakon Jarl dramatizes the life of the tyrannical Viking warrior with memorable flair. The Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra was established in 1949 by the esteemed conductors Vaclav Talich and L’udovit Rajter. Since then, the orchestra has performed under the batons of some of the world’s greatest conductors. The Slovak Philharmonic has made numerous recordings and has toured extensively throughout the world.
Item number 8573597
Barcode 747313359776
Release date 1/11/2019
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Svárovský, Leoš
Orchestra Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra
Disc: 1
Richard III, Op. 1100:14:00
1 Richard III, Op. 11, JB 1:70 00:14:13 Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra Svárovský, Leoš
Valdštýnuv tábor (Wallensteins Lager, Wallenstein'00:15:12
2 Wallenstein's Camp, Op. 14, JB 1:72 00:16:15 Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra Svárovský, Leoš
Hakon Jarl, Op. 1600:16:42
3 Hakon Jarl, Op. 16, JB 1:79 00:17:20 Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra Svárovský, Leoš
Triumphal Symphony in E Major, Op. 600:30:00
4 Festive Symphony in E Major, Op. 6, JB 1:59: III. 00:10:37 Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra Svárovský, Leoš
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Smetana: Swedish Symphonic Poems, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$8.99 ($9.99)
Dvorák: Symphony No. 2 - Legends Op. 59, Nos. 6-10
$8.99 ($9.99)
Dvorak: Symphony No. 9, 'From the New World' - Symphonic Variations
$8.99 ($9.99)
$8.99 ($9.99)
SCHUBERT: Symphonies Nos. 5 and 8 / Rosamunde
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 5 / Marche slave (Slavonic March) 8550191 12/15/1988 $11.69 ($12.99)
WAGNER, R.: Orchestral Highlights from Operas 8550136 10/6/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker & Swan Lake Suites 8550050 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition - Borodin: Polovtsian Dances 8550051 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
BIZET: Carmen Suites Nos. 1 and 2 / L'arlesienne Suites Nos. 1 and 2 8550061 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Beethoven: Overtures, Vol. 1 8550072 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Few in stock Buy +

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items