Grigory Smirnov: Dowson Songs & Chaconne

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The distinguished Russian-born, American-resident Grigory Smirnov is, in the words of fellow composer John Corigliano “an exceptionally talented composer with a unique voice.” Powerful and timeless, and not beholden to any particular stylistic affiliations, Smirnov explores the eternal questions in his music, notably so in the Dowson Songs. Taking ten poems by the English poet Ernest Dowson, he has organised them in a narrative cycle exploring, with great richness, the transformative evolution of love. In Chaconne, for cello and piano, whilst following Baroque ideas, Smirnov magically dissolves the borders between melody and harmony.
Item number 8579006
Barcode 747313900671
Release date 11/11/2016
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Bakari, Martin
Daurov, Adrian
Valianatos, Konstantine
Disc: 1
1 Chaconne 00:10:42 Daurov, Adrian Valianatos, Konstantine
Dowson Songs00:50:09
2 Dowson Songs: No. 1, Tears Fall Within Mine Heart 00:03:40 Bakari, Martin Valianatos, Konstantine
3 Dowson Songs: No. 2, A Coronal 00:03:55 Bakari, Martin Valianatos, Konstantine
4 Dowson Songs: No. 3, Transition 00:03:59 Bakari, Martin Valianatos, Konstantine
5 Dowson Songs: No. 4, Exile 00:05:24 Bakari, Martin Valianatos, Konstantine
6 Dowson Songs: No. 5, Interlude 00:01:05 Valianatos, Konstantine
7 Dowson Songs: No. 6, When This, Our Rose, Is Faded 00:05:34 Bakari, Martin Valianatos, Konstantine
8 Dowson Songs: No. 7, Seraphita 00:04:03 Bakari, Martin Valianatos, Konstantine
9 Dowson Songs: No. 8, I Would Not Alter Thy Cold Ey 00:03:28 Bakari, Martin Valianatos, Konstantine
10 Dowson Songs: No. 9, The Gift of Silence 00:06:38 Bakari, Martin Valianatos, Konstantine
11 Dowson Songs: No. 10, The Days of Wine and Roses 00:01:15 Bakari, Martin Valianatos, Konstantine
12 Dowson Songs: No. 11, A Land of Silence 00:08:15 Bakari, Martin Valianatos, Konstantine
13 Dowson Songs: No. 12, Postlude 00:02:57 Valianatos, Konstantine
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Grigory Smirnov: Dowson Songs & Chaconne, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Liszt Complete Piano Music, Vol. 15: Beethoven Symphonies Nos. 2 & 5 (Transcriptions)
Liszt: Annees De Pelerinage, Vol. 2
Mozart: Piano Sonatas, Vol. 2 (Piano Sonatas Nos. 9, 12, 16 and 17)
Grieg: Lyric Pieces, Books 1-10
WEISS, S.L.: Lute Sonatas Nos. 12 and 39 / Lute Partita in D Minor 8550470 3/1/1991 $11.99
HANDEL: Harpsichord Suites Nos. 6 - 8 8550416 11/6/1990 $11.99
SCARLATTI, D.: Piano Sonatas (Selection) 8550252 10/24/1990 $11.99
Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Nos. 4, 13, 22 and 19-20, Op. 49 8550167 12/15/1988 $11.99
Romantic Piano Favourites, Vol. 2 8550053 3/7/1988 $11.99
Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Nos. 17, 21, and 26 8550054 2/5/1988 $11.99

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items